I scream, you scream

11 Aug

This is the kind of week I’m having.  It’s insane. By the time I get home, all I want is ice cream and sleep.  So obviously it is time to talk about ice cream.

New York Super Fudge Chunk is my usual go to for eating my emotions. My favorite part of ice cream is the chunks of candy, cookies, etc. in there, and NYSFC is always generous with the chocolate.  I’m not much of a nut fan, but the nuts aren’t overwhelming. NYSFC consistently has everything I’m looking for to put me in a diabetic black out and forget my day.

I’m a big fan of Oatmeal Cookie Chunk, because it reminds me of the ice cream sandwiches we’d get at summer camp.  I went to a fantastic summer camp when I was a kid (and also worked there one summer as a counselor). It was in the Redwood forest, and it was a Jewish camp where we sang Jewish songs and did the Macarena every day before lunch. (I do not know why).  Occasionally we’d get “Its-it” ice cream sandwiches– two oatmeal cookies with ice cream in the middle, and covered with chocolate. My favorite was the mocha flavor.  OCC is the closest I can get to an Its-it without flying to California and dancing the Macarena.

Delicious. That is all.

Even though fro-yo is trendy right now, and Squirrel Hill seems to have more ice cream places than people, Dave & Andy’s is hands down the best.  I am the kind of person who never orders the same thing twice because I want to try out everything.  The first time I went to Dave & Andy’s, I got Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream.  Every single time I’ve gone back, I’ve gotten Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream.  I can’t get anything else, because then I’d be sad that I went to Dave & Andy’s and missed an opportunity to eat Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream.

Ok, I take that back—in 2005 I was training for a marathon and had just run about 16 miles through Oakland and Shadyside and Squirrel Hill and then all the way out to the Waterfront and back.  My running pal and I stopped at Dave & Andy’s at the end of our run and had sorbet. Best sorbet ever.

Leave a Reply

