Movies that will make you miserable

16 Aug

I like dark movies, and have a slightly morbid sense of humor. Every once in a while, I unwittingly select a film that blasts right on by “dark” all the way to “there is no hope for humanity, you might as well throw yourself off a building now.”

This is my list of miserable, miserable films.  I watched them so you don’t have to. Ever.

Dancer in the Dark.  You’ll be blind, penniless, friendless, and leave your child an orphan.

House of Sand and Fog.  There is no hope, you will lose everything.

Radio Flyer. And this one’s all about kids getting beaten.

The Kite Runner. Rape, death, misery.

Requiem for a Dream.  Everything will kill you.

Here is a bunny to make you feel better.

5 Responses to “Movies that will make you miserable”

  1. Lindsay August 16, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    I’m kinda glad to say I’ve never any of those! Or does that just make me sound sheltered??

    Love the bunny at the end 🙂

    • beezuskiddo August 17, 2011 at 9:46 am #

      They’re mostly little known artsy films, so I don’t think that not being familiar with them makes you sheltered.

  2. Sandra Kozera August 17, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Amazingly, I’ve seen a couple of those movies (as I tend to avoid such things). Did we see Dancer in the Dark together? That movie is like getting beaten with a stick then when you’re pretty sure you’re going to die from the beating, getting set on fire.

    • beezuskiddo August 17, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      No, we didn’t see it together. I watched it back when I was either in high school or college. I (inexplicably) own it on VHS but only watched it that one time. I also have the soundtrack. It’s all Bjork and kind of sucks.

      • Sandra Kozera August 18, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

        I’m an old person, it’s all starting to run together. I watched Sweet Home Alabama on TV last night and it came out in 2002, which was like 10 years ago. WTF.

Leave a Reply

