Like a real grown-up!

3 Sep

Tonight Sandy watched Baby Beez, and Mr. Beez and I were able to go on a date like real grown-ups! I have no problem leaving Baby Beez with babysitters, but the logistics of getting a sitter combined with both Mr. Beez and I frequently working on the weekend, means that we don’t often get around to scheduling a sitter and going out.  Since Sandy has a little one as well, we swap babysitting time (also, it gives the girls time to play and develop their forced friendship).

Mr. Beez and I went out to dinner at Rock Bottom Brewery and then saw Harry Potter: The Deathly Hallows, Part 2 in IMAX/3D.  There were maybe 20 people in the whole theater, because everyone else in the universe has already seen this movie except for us.

Although Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is by far my favorite HP book, this was my favorite HP movie.  I admit that may have more to do with me being so ridiculously movie theater starved, than anything….but I really did love it.

I read the book years ago when it first came out, and at this point I don’t remember a whole lot about it, so I can’t say much about how true the film remained to the book.  I remembered there was a lot lot lot of wandering around looking for horcruxes, but they managed to fit all the wandering into Deathly Hallows Part 1.  Deathly Hallows Part 2 was the big war between good and evil.

The trip to Gringotts was my favorite scene of the movie.  I do love the storylines and the characters, but my favorite part of the Harry Potter books is just seeing the wizarding world in general.  That’s why the Goblet of Fire is my favorite book in the series– because the TriWizard Tournament is one big plot device to spend a whole book moseying around the wizarding world and seeing what’s out there.

Mr. Beez likes to do movie marathons.  I’ve sat through more than a few marathons of all 3 Matrix movies, all 6 Star Wars movies, and 3 Dune movies (feature film Dune, TV movie Dune, and Children of Dune). Once all the HP movies are out on DVD, it’ll be time for me to declare a movie marathon.

Leave a Reply

