GOOP

4 Oct

GOOP–Gwyneth Paltrow’s lifestyle website/newsletter is a completely enthralling car wreck.  Her incredible privilege shows in every single issue, and it makes me want to throw up all over my keyboard, but I just can’t stop reading.

The hotels she recommends are well upward of $800 per night (usually in the thousands).  She doesn’t get fancy french jam from Whole Foods, she gets it from the for real France.  She has workouts designed for her personally by Tracy Anderson.  She just can’t bear to buy clothing in the United States.  And somehow she thinks it’s a brilliant idea to share these things with us little people, even though most of us little people don’t even have access, much less money to afford, all the ridiculous things she loves….and we little people subscribe to and KEEP READING this garbage. WHY do I read it? I just can’t stop.

Now I’ll stop being a jerk and admit that she does post some good recipes (or at least good looking ones, because I’ve only made a couple of them).  Last week, in honor of Rosh Hashanah, Gwyneth included a recipe for sweet looking babka.

Chocolate babka…yummmmm

Since making a babka is on my 30 before 30 list, I’ll try out the recipe Gwyneth shared with the world.  That doesn’t mean I’ll share the babka. Mine all mine. If you want to eat a babka, you bake it yourself.

3 Responses to “GOOP”

  1. Sandy October 4, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    We’ve been watching Up All Night, and Will Arnett is a stay-at-home-dad and he made a gnocchi recipe he found on Gwyneth’s website. It was funny because I understood the reference.

    • beezuskiddo October 5, 2011 at 8:43 am #

      Did he have to use $450/lb flour made from wheat harvested by monks who live in the mountains and have taken a vow of silence, and salt from the seaside cliffs of France?

      • Sandy October 5, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

        I think so. I mean, he must have.

Leave a Reply

