work and life

6 Oct

The guest post (by Sara of Your Creative Ally) on the When I Grow Up blog made me smile this morning– the post discusses business planning for creative types, but the illustration said it all:

Yes. This is my life.

AbbyinOz also posted an insightful article on BlogHer about running your life like a business.  Acknowledging that all things- work and play- take time, and that time is scarce, she recommends organizing and prioritizing personal (for lack of a better word) tasks, and building them in with your professional routine and schedule.  I already do this to a certain extent, I would be more likely to get small personal things done (calling to make a dentist appointment, putting the folded laundry away, etc) if I made it a more regular habit.  With this approach, I do have to accept that sometimes I feel overscheduled and hit a wall, and need a completely unscheduled day to regroup.

Leave a Reply

