A belated Gut Yontiff to yinz

9 Oct

Yesterday was Yom Kippur.  Last year was the first time my entire life I flat-out didn’t go to Yom Kippur services (Baby Beez was a month old, and I was in no shape to be attending shul).  This year we went to the family-oriented telling/puppet show of the Jonah story.  It was fantastic and fun.  I wish I had pictures of these amazing huge puppets, but it would be inappropriate to take photos during a service (even a family oriented one).  We also stayed for the Children’s Service, during which Rachel didn’t fuss, but still made every possible noise and squeak and word she was capable of making.  After all the services, we went to a friends house for a fantastic break the fast celebration.

We didn’t have to be at the synagogue until 2:30 pm, so yesterday morning I rented a boat from Kayak Pittsburgh and had a kayaking workout.  The morning weather was warm but crisp, the leaves are starting to turn colors, and the sun was shining bright.  It was a perfect fall morning.  I listened to an episode of This American Life as I paddled from the Roberto Clemente Bridge up to Washington’s Landing, and back.

I’M ON A BOAT!

Shipwreck on the Allegheny.

A bunch of rowing teams were out practicing. The rowers were followed by a speedboat, carrying someone with a bullhorn yelling at them to ROW HARDER ROW HARDER.  It’s a good thing no one was yelling at me to paddle harder, I would cry big tears.

Leave a Reply

