fall shoe roundup

13 Oct

I want to buy just about every shoe Anthropologie has for sale this fall.  My shoe closet is overwhelmingly black and brown.  I should be more daring and try out jeweltones and sparkles.  On the unusual occasion that I pick a brightly-colored shoe, I usually pair it with an all-black outfit.  Someday I’ll bust out the big guns and wear brightly-colored shoes and a colorful outfit. Ok, maybe not.

The color pairing here is so unusual, and I usually detest oxfords as clunky and awkward, but these Colorblocked Oxford Heels are oddly charming.  I don’t know what kind of outfit they would work with, but it would have to be something very simple, so that these shoes would shine.  Neatly tailored tweed pants and a white buttondown would probably do nicely, or a simple pencil skirt.

This heel on these Rakish & Roughhewn Heels is the perfect height for me (2.5″), and I love the mix of the gold and wood.  The sleek fabric keeps the shoe looking polished, even with the rough edge.  Satin can be tough to wear, because if your outfit is too fancy, you look like you got lost on the way to a wedding.  Also, you have to mind the weather, because water can stain and ruin your shoes.  These would add some pop to a basic navy pantsuit.

I find that light-colored shoes run a high risk of making a decent outfit look terrible.  I wore grey flats one day with black tights, saw my reflection in the mirrored elevator door, and spent the remainder of the day worrying “omg, what am I wearing?”  With the vertical bow, these Antaresia T-Straps can either be dressy or casual, and I think they’d pair perfectly with jeans for casual day at the office.

5 Responses to “fall shoe roundup”

  1. It's A Want October 13, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Adorable shoes! I agree with you thought.. whenever I bust out bright shoes I will always wear a neutral outfit lol. thanks for sharing!

  2. Shahanifudge October 13, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    I love the first pair. I can see myself wearing those…:)

    http://shahanifudge.wordpress.com/

  3. sonbanon October 13, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Brightly colored shoes are awesome! I wear red shoes and pale pink often. I either do all black or black pants with a similarly colored top or sometimes I just mix it up depending on how serious my day is.

  4. sonbanon October 13, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Oh! I also have done silver shoes… like aluminum foil silver… but not to work 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shoes gone horribly wrong « beezuskiddo - November 30, 2011

    […] must always be balance, and because Anthropolgie introduced quite a number of charming, swoon-worthy shoes in its fall collection, the laws of the universe commanded that the next set be […]

Leave a Reply

