American Horror Story

21 Oct

I finally got around to watching American Horror Story this week.  I had seen the previews over the last few months and was super-excited about it, but didn’t get around to find out what time it was on. Oops. (FYI–it’s on Wednesdays at 10 pm on FX). I missed the first 2 episodes, but I can catch up with them on Hulu, hooray!

The barebones summary is that the show is about a family that moves into a haunted house…the plot is actually a LOT more complicated than that, but I don’t really know what’s going on (not entirely sure the writers know what’s going on either) so I’m not even going to try to summarize it.  There are a lot of ghosts, except it’s not always immediately apparent that they’re ghosts, and there’s all kinds of scary and surreal stuff.  Wow, this is a non-informative review.

LOST and Twin Peaks were amongst my favorite shows, and American Horror Story draws heavily from that genre of confusion, fright, and surrealism.  The story is non-linear, with flashbacks and things being told somewhat out of order. It jumps around in time and perspective, which can be tricky to follow, but makes the show all the more exciting.

I should be able to eventually write a more substantive review.  I haven’t looked forward to a show this much for a while, and this one looks to be a really good one.  For now, I’ve got two episodes to catch up on before next Wednesday.

2 Responses to “American Horror Story”

  1. J. Karamour October 21, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Let me know what you think of the show, I have seen all three episodes and enjoyed them all. Not too sure what it going on yet but we’ll figure it out eventually!

  2. Mos Jones October 21, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    I need to catch the third episode but I thought the first two were very interesting. The story is mysterious and I think for a horror series, mysterious is the route you should go!

Leave a Reply

