Halloween Treats

30 Oct

Yesterday I was in Suzie Homemaker mode in the kitchen, and I made 3 quick and fun Halloween treats all while Baby Beez was napping (I admit she took a ridiculously long 3 hour nap…but it took less than 2 hours for me to put together these treats.)

Blueberry muffin’s aren’t traditionally Halloween treats, but the paper cups make them Halloween-y.  Baby Beez’ daycare is having a Halloween party on Monday, and I wanted to bring a treat that is even just a tiny bit healthier than candy.  I cheated and used the Betty Crocker just-add-water mix, so these were super fast to make.

Popcorn balls are my FAVORITE autumn treat.  They are ridiculously easy to make, and fast–actually speed is the key, because you have to be quick and form the popcorn balls before the marshmallow mix cools.  I always put M&M’s in them because that makes them even BETTER.  To make popcorn balls, just use any rice krispie treats recipe, and substitute 2 bags of popped microwave popcorn (sort out the unpopped kernels) for the rice krispies.  You can buy popcorn balls from the store but they are nowhere near as good as homemade, and since they’re so ridiculously fast and easy to make, it really is worth the effort.

I also made dirt cups.  Yes, I know I’m not in kindergarten anymore, but I still love dirt cups.  I was a little sad that I couldn’t find those weird pumpkin candies they tend to sell around Halloween, but the worms did just fine.  Dirt cups take less than 10 minutes to make (when you are lazy like me and use instant pudding), and it’s kind of fun to bludgeon all the oreos.

Leave a Reply

