Busy day in the ‘burgh: The Strip District and Pgh. Toy Lending Library

12 Nov

The weather was blissful today, and the Strip District– Pittsburgh’s open air market neighborhood–was packed.  We didn’t even venture out there for shopping, we just wanted to eat and walk around.  And that we did.

Baby Beez nomming on a grilled cheese from Soup Nancys in the Pittsburgh Public Market.

OMIGOD I LOVE FOOD.

I always have a hard time deciding what to eat when we go to the Strip– there are so many delicious options.  Sometimes I get a banh mi, or sometimes I get a mung bean pancake or some noodles.  This time I opted for the taco stand outside of Reyna Foods.  I have long been a fan of Reyna’s fresh tortillas, they are soft and pillowy and such a treat.  When I buy them, I usually eat them right out of the bag, they don’t even make it home for dinner.

I’ve heard lots of good things about the taco stand.  The wait can be a bit long, because they make everything right there for you.  A number of people in line were talking about how many other people have said great things about the taco stand.

In Pittsburgh, however, it’s hard to evaluate Mexican food, because we don’t have a whole lot of options to choose from.  I hoped that the food would live up to the hype.


The tacos are 1 for $3, 2 for $5, and you have your choice of steak, chicken, pork, tongue, chorizo or the vegetarian options of beans or soyrizo.  I opted for one steak, one chorizo.  The tacos are topped with sour cream, cheese, lettuce, tomato, onions and a fresh squeeze of lime.

I ate the steak taco first.   It was very tasty, but did not turn my world upside down.  The chorizo one, however, was delicious.  The chorizo is flavorful and just a little spicy, and the toppings blend with the meat perfectly.  I finished the chorizo taco, and all I could think about was eating another 50 chorizo tacos.  SO DELICIOUS.

Eating 50 tacos was not an option this afternoon, however, because we had to get on our way to the Pittsburgh Toy Lending Library for a birthday party. This is the second birthday party we’ve been to at the PTLL– it is an ideal location for parties for kids under 5.  There are tons of toys, the kids have tons of fun, and it tends to be low key and comfortable.  If you have a young child, and you haven’t visited there yet, you should check it out.

 

Leave a Reply

