seeking motivation

3 Dec

I was an exercise nut in law school– I was a srs bzness runner and consistently went to the gym.  Since the summer of the bar exam, all of that has steadily gone downhill.  I’m guilty of making excuses left and right. I don’t want to work out in the morning because I’m tired and want to sleep, I don’t want to work out in the evening because I’m tired and want to relax, I don’t want to work out in the middle of the day, because it’s too much of a hassle to re-do my hair and makeup in the middle of the day, and my gym isn’t convenient to my office anyway.  I’ve looked for all kinds of external motivators. I’ve tried setting big goals, small goals, promising myself rewards if I do XYZ, and none of it has worked from me.

It is time to stop with the excuses.  It’s time to stop fooling myself that something external will “get” me to exercise.  I need to just do it.  I need to say “now is the time for exercise,” and get off my backside, and do it.

I’ve had a subscription to Self magazine for the last few years, so I have a good stack of ideas for at home workouts for when I can’t go to the gym. (Note: Self’s website has a ton of resources as well). I don’t like working out at home. I feel strange and goofy. But I need to stop saying “I don’t like this” and “I don’t like that” and just work out already.  I’ll stupidly tell myself that I should only do cardio and not bother with weights or toning, since it’s only worth doing weights and toning if you do those consistently, and since I don’t workout consistently it’s not worth it…but that’s all rubbish.  I’m not a competitive athlete.  Any exercise I do is worth it.  I just need to do something.

Today I did the “Work Out Anywhere” routine.  Sometimes Self’s routines require a lot more muscle strength than I have, but this one was fine. I’m sure my form was terrible, but I got through the workout without wanting to die.  I broke a good sweat, and had to take mini-breaks here and there, and I will probably be sore tomorrow. That is to be expected when you’ve been a complete lazybones for the last five years.

When I go to the gym, I often opt for the elliptical or walking on the treadmill because even though I may sweat, it’s easy exercise.  Easy exercise is better than no exercise, but I do think it’s a good idea for me to go for more variety than just the same old thing. I do have 5 lb dumbells, a swiss ball, and a small medicine ball, and I need to put these to use for real.  I keep meaning to try some group exercise classes at my gym, but I keep making excuses about time, or feeling lazy, etc etc etc.  It is time for the excuses to stop.

Leave a Reply

