Using this thing for more than pictures of shoes and my kid

9 Dec

When I saw that BlogHer 2012’s Call for Ideas submissions opened up this week, I was THRILLED.

Admittedly, I have never attended a BlogHer conference, or any blogging or social media conference for that matter. In terms of conferences, though, this is probably as big (in number of attendees) as a blogging conference gets.  It has also been around long enough to have a credible reputation, and not just be a gathering of poorly socialized narcissists (although there will probably be a handful of them there, too).

I’ve been blogging in one form or another since seemingly the beginning of time, but I’m not really involved in the blogging “scene.”  I do follow legal issues surrounding blogging with great interest. BlogHer makes a point of having 80% new speakers every year, so there are plenty of opportunities for newbies to speak. I decided this would be a good opportunity for me to throw my hat in the ring.

My friend Jill and I submitted a session proposal yesterday to present a session called “How to Blog and Not Get Fired.” We would talk about the tensions that arise between employers and employees when there is blogging involved, and legal and practical guidelines for blog content and internet conduct.

I am also working on another session proposal, but I haven’t submitted that one yet…I’ll share the topic once I’ve sent in the proposal! 

I’ve vetted both of my ideas with Mr. Beez.  He would much rather give himself a root canal than listen to me talk about law, and even he thought these topics are interesting, so there is hope!

I’m excited that I’m finding opportunities to write creatively, but in a productive and professional fashion.  I have no aspirations of being a “professional blogger.”  I am just happy that I am able to pursue a hobby I like, not be too bad at it, and get a little recognition for it.  On that note, my review of “High Octane Women” was also published on the Her Circle E-zine this week, which I think is pretty neat.

BlogHer’s call for ideas is open until January 5, and we’ll find out who made it through the first round of selection in mid-February.  Wish me luck!

One Response to “Using this thing for more than pictures of shoes and my kid”

  1. soniabgill December 11, 2011 at 12:59 am #

    Good luck with your proposals! That’s awesome. I’d love to hear the talks. Hope they will be recorded 🙂

Leave a Reply

