old lady wine!

21 Dec

For my birthday, I asked Mr. Beez to get me wine that is older than I am.  He picked up 2 bottles! A 1973 Bordeaux, and a 1975 Bordeaux.  Afterward, he learned that these were respectively “bad” and “not great” years…so we weren’t sure what we’d have in store…

As a complementary gift, I got him a wine cellar for Hanukkah!

We are by no means wine connoisseurs, but we do like wine, and we need a place to put it that is out of the way of small grabby hands.  This enables us to keep it at the ideal temperature, and also keep it up and out of the way.

Tonight Mr. Beez and I had a grown-up date at Avenue B Bistro.  We had the calamari appetizer, then Mr. Beez had the house salad and steak, and I had the butternut squash soup and meatloaf. It was all delicious!

We also had our 1975 Chateau Gruaud-Larose, and it was very tasty!  The people who rate old fancy wine probably have much sharper palates than we do.  The tannins were a little stronger than the fruit, but not overwhelmingly so.  The wine tasted just fine to these beginners!  Now I feel like a fancy wine drinking lady, since I’ve had wine that is older than I am! Check that one off the 30 before 30 list!

2 Responses to “old lady wine!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 30 before 30 « beezuskiddo - December 21, 2011

    […] Buy (and drink) a bottle of wine that is older than I am.  Accomplished on 12/20/11. […]

  2. Root 174 « beezuskiddo - January 23, 2012

    […] to try a new dining hotspot, it was also a perfect opportunity for us to try the second bottle of “Old Lady Wine” that Mr. Beez bought for me (this was a 1973 Bordeaux).  The 1975 Bordeaux we had at my birthday […]

Leave a Reply

