New Year’s Resolutions….

27 Dec

I’m really terrible with New Year’s Resolutions. I’ve made them, but never taken them seriously, because I pessimistically expect myself to fail.  I’m leery of taking on many new projects. The busy time at work is on the horizon, plus I’ve got the 30 before 30 list to complete.  The resolutions I’ve come up with are things I’m already working on, and I’m hoping the New Year will give me more resolve to work harder, and do better.

1.  Exercise more (3-5 times a week)  I’m trying to find the best time/arrangement for working up. My gym membership is up for renewal in February, and I’m toying with getting a membership at a gym near my workplace or maybe a gym with childcare.  Almost every time I’ve tried to wake up at 5:15 to hit the gym before work, it ends up a miserable failure.  I’m having a little more success hitting the gym in the evening, but once I’ve arrived home, it’s hard to convince myself to get back out again.

I’d like to start doing exercise classes.  Yet again, it’s a motivation issue. I need to GET OFF MY BACKSIDE and show up at the gym.

I’m not waiting until January 1 to work on this.  I actually hit the gym on Christmas day, and DID go to the gym tonight as well.  The gym in January is usually miserable (because everyone else has the same resolution), so I’m enjoying the quiet time while I still can.

 

2. Spend more quality time with Baby Beez and Mr. Beez.  This is a resolution that’s hard to quantify.  I feel like I do spend quality time with them now, but I’m guilty of sometimes being tired, turning on the TV and vegging on the couch with them instead of doing something “real.”  I need to be better about turning off the TV and getting on the floor and playing with toys with Baby Beez, or going out and doing activities together that aren’t just grocery shopping.  This will also require better time management on my behalf, and not overscheduling myself with other activities to the point of exhaustion. Now that Baby Beez is getting bigger, I’m looking forward to us doing more fun outdoor family activities wgeb the weather is nice like going the park and the poolWe tried doing that this summer, and Baby Beez was too small to do much of anything.  Now that she’s getting bigger, there’s a lot more fun things she can do.

3. Floss my darn teeth.  I don’t have any good excuse for not being a good flosser.  Good flosser = good teefs.  Even after I had to get three nasty cavities filled, I’m still not hitting the floss daily.  This needs to change, like yesterday.

 

What are your New Year’s Resolutions?

One Response to “New Year’s Resolutions….”

  1. soniabgill December 30, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    I can’t believe flossing your teeth daily is a resolution because it’s one of mine too! (And has been for several years running. I do it a few times a week.)

Leave a Reply

