New Year’s fun!

30 Dec

It’s almost New Year’s Eve! Time for celebration!

Over the last several years, Mr. Beez and I have had a tradition of going out to fancy dinner with our friends Sandy and Ben.  We’ve been to several different restaurants, but last year we had so much fun at Ibiza that we’ve decided to go there again!  We have an old-people early dinner reservation, but that works best for all involved, since we have young children (they at home with babysitters–this is a grown up dinner, yum Sangria!)  In years past, Mr. Beez and I have followed up the dinner by going to a NYE party or other such fun.  This year we’re going to be extra glamorous and return home, put on sweatpants, drink champagne, and probably watch a movie. 

For as long as I can remember, my family’s New Year’s Day tradition has been to eat cinnamon rolls (usually Cinnabon), drink hot chocolate, and watch the Rose Parade on TV. 

One year we actually trekked it down to watch the Rose Parade in person, and decided that it’s not worth the hassle. It’s better on TV, plus you don’t have to get up at 4am to take a bus to Pasadena with 60 retirees.

Each year we carry on the tradition.  Since Cinnabon doesn’t exist anywhere in Pittsburgh (why?), I often pick up cinnamon rolls from Dozen.  They are truly the best in the city, although I do have a certain fondness for My Goodies Vegan Bakery’s Cinnamon Buns .  I am also known to bake a mean cinnamon roll, but I admit it’s not a recipe of my own design.  For my “secret” recipe, check out “Father’s Cinnamon Rolls” on About.com’s article “In Search for the Ultimate Cinnamon Roll Recipe”

I would someday like to attend the First Night Pittsburgh NYE celebration.  For this former-California-Girl, the prospect of voluntarily being outside at night in the winter is not an appealing one for me.  Maybe some year when the weather forecast says “warm and dry” I will check it out.

What are your New Year’s plans?

One Response to “New Year’s fun!”

  1. Sandy December 30, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    I think when Beez and Elena are a little older we can take them to First Night and have a good time. I went a few times in college – it was OK but it’s really geared towards kids and families.

    I thought there was Cinnabon at the Ross Park Mall but I guess not. You could go to the rest stop on the PA turnpike that has them…

Leave a Reply

