Dinner out at Sonoma Grille

7 Jan

Last night was dinner out with my pals at Sonoma Grille!

Sonoma Grille is a California-style wine bar and bistro.  Their wine list is enormous, and they have 5 or 6 selections of flights.  I started off with the Dry Creek Chenin Blanc–it’s a very dry white wine. It was delicious.  I also had the Glorious Bastards flight of reds, which was equally delicious.

We started with the Med Plate starter, which is a generous serving of pita, hummus, tabbouleh, hearts of palm salad, and olives.  It was delicious.

For dinner I had the Salmon special, with salmon, a noodle salad, and whipped potatoes.  It was so tasty, and even though I was stuffed, I piggishly insisted that the waiter not remove my plate, so that I could oh so slowly pick at it until it was all gone (after all, a doggie bag would make no sense, salmon is no good as leftovers, right?)

All of my companions were very happy with their meals as well.

I was much too full to order dessert, but Sandy’s chocolate pot de creme was much too pretty to not photograph!

The service was fantastic.  Our waiter was attentive, but not at all pushy.  Two of the dinner companions arrived a bit later, and he was more than happy to let us take as much time as we wanted, and put in staggered orders.  He was extremely accommodating and friendly.

The only downfall of Sonoma Grille is that it is fairly pricy.  WPXI: Just Pay Half has been running a $50 certificate for $25 lately, which helps take the sting out of the bill.  The quality of the food, wine, and service is worth the bill, but it’s pricy enough that I’d consider Sonoma Grille a “special occasion” restaurant.

One Response to “Dinner out at Sonoma Grille”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Pittsburgh Weekend « BeezusKiddo - August 12, 2012

    […] is always a winner for a Friday Out.  I’d go out for a decadent dinner at Nine on Nine or Sonoma Grill and catch a Pittsburgh Public Theater show at the O’Reilly.  Afterward I’d take a […]

Leave a Reply

