Songs to make you weep like a fool

29 Jan

I listen to Pandora pretty much all day, every day. Every once in a while I make the poor decision of picking some station that plays some sad sappy song and it takes all my strength to keep from getting tears all over my keyboard.  I can’t help it though, some of those sad songs are just so good. Here are some of my favorite sob-inspiring tunes–

Ben Folds, Brick


Coldplay, Fix You (Sandy describes this song as “Tear Pie”)

The Script, Breakeven

So what are your favorite songs to make you cry like an idiot?

(Note: this post is inspired by being stuck at the mechanic for 2 hours on Saturday morning, and 500 Days of Summer was on the TV, and in that last scene where he goes to stupid Zooey Deschanel’s party is such a kick to the stomach)

3 Responses to “Songs to make you weep like a fool”

  1. Jayna January 30, 2012 at 12:43 am #

    Both Zombie and Linger by The Cranberries. I love Breakeven, even if it does make me a little weepy.

    The opposite of these songs: Get Over It by OK Go.

    • Jayna January 30, 2012 at 12:48 am #

      OH! Also, thanks to Beverley Hill 90210 – ‘Losing my Religion’ by REM.

      (this is the best post ever!)

  2. Viki February 6, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    I gotta agree with “Fix You” especially since I first heard it on So You Think You Can Dance. It was such a great meld of movement with music and lyrics.
    When she jumps back into his arms without looking and at the end when he nudges her feet forward….ugh, I feel seared inside.

    http://vimeo.com/13394142

Leave a Reply

