All New Things.

2 Feb

I didn’t plan it like this, but this is the week of NEW THINGS.  I got an iPhone 4s AND a Kindle Fire within the space of a week.  I also got a Pinterest account, and an Instagram account.  I barely know how to use any of these things.

It’s tricky because I don’t have a lot of free time to play around with a new device or account.  I also find that if I spend too much time focusing on a cell phone screen, I get dizzy and nauseous.  I assume it’s because the screen is so small, because I spend ALL DAY focusing on a big computer screen and I’m fine.

My new Kindle Fire looking all old-timey courtesy of Instagram

While Mr. Beez loves investigating new devices and just messing around with the settings, etc., I have absolutely no curiosity for phones, etc.  I have a lovely computer that can do so many clever things. I use it for (1) Reading the internet, (2) MS Word, (3) listening to music, and (4) storing photos.  I couldn’t even tell you what other programs are on this thing. I have no idea.

Similarly with a phone, my goals are (1) make calls, (2) get email, (3) Facebook (not in that order, because I hate talking on the phone).  I have figured out how to do those things, and I’m pretty much set.  I have no idea how to use the Siri feature, and it’ll probably be a while before I bother.

I snuck Mr. Beez’s iPad for reading in bed from time to time.  I’m not drawn in by all the fantastic things a tablet can do…I’m in love with it because it’s backlit, and that means I don’t have to have a lamp on for reading.  When the Kindle Fire came out, it was an obvious alternative for me, because all you really use it for is reading and looking at the internet.  Even if I had a fancier device, that’s all I’d use it for anyway.  Anything fancier would be a waste of money and technology for me.  So I got my Fire yesterday. I turned it on and it was ALREADY SET UP WITH MY ACCOUNT, YESSSSS.  I didn’t have to configure a thing.  All I had to do was pick out books. I am in love.

The Pinterest phenomenon is a little intimidating to me. I hear about all these amazing design boards, and now I’m getting worked up that whatever board I’ll design just WON’T be good enough.  I feel like the whole thing is organized/conceptualized differently than every other social site I’ve used, and it is confusing to me.

I feel extra old lady today. GET OFF MY LAWN.

4 Responses to “All New Things.”

  1. Sandy February 2, 2012 at 8:24 am #

    I am on instagram. I can’t find you though.

  2. beezuskiddo February 2, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    username is beezuskiddo
    I don’t know how to otherwise tell you how to find me…

    • sandy February 2, 2012 at 9:12 am #

      Yay, it worked!

  3. Naomi Farina February 2, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    You can download movies on your kindle as well — so I’ve heard…

Leave a Reply

