Happy 200th Birthday Charles Dickens!

7 Feb

Today is Charles Dickens’ 200th birthday! Admittedly, I read A Tale of Two Cities in high school and hated it.  My mom made me listen to Oliver Twist on a 6 hour car trip when I was a kid, and although I didn’t hate that one, it wasn’t a favorite either.  I do have a warm fondness for A Muppet’s Christmas Carol, does that count?

For years I didn’t give Dickens a second thought, until I saw preview pictures of Helena Bonham Carter as Miss Havisham in the upcoming Great Expectations film adaptation. The idea of a batty spinster in a rotting wedding dress intrigued me.  Although Bonham Carter tends to play the same character over and over, at least it’s an interesting character.

I’ve got no shortage of books on my “to read” list, but Great Expectations and Bleak House are getting tacked on there as well.  Age and experience changes the way you read books.  I’ve re-read books I’ve adored when younger, and on second reading hated them.  I’m hoping the opposite is true when I become reacquainted with Mr. Dickens.

Happy Birthday, old man!

(coincidentally, this is also my 200th blog post. Hooray!)

Leave a Reply

