Where am I getting my info about classic films?

8 Feb

I’ve always thought Sunset Boulevard was a musical.  It is not.

I also thought On the Waterfront was a film version of Disneyland’s The Jungle Cruise. It is definitely not.

I don’t know where I was getting my ideas about these films, but they were wrong wrong wrong.  Both movies were excellent, but neither were about singing or hippopatami. Not even close.

Sunset Boulevard is a brilliant drama about an aging, delusional former movie star, who develops an unhealthy obsession her screenwriter boytoy and her planned return to the silver screen. You know this film, even if you aren’t aware of it…Gloria Swanson wraps up the film with her breathy “I’m ready for my close-up, Mr. DeMille!”

On the Waterfront has equally famous lines– this is the film with Marlon Brando’s famous “I coulda been somebody! I coulda been a contendah!”  I have no idea where I got my ideas about this film, but it had nothing to do with rivers or boats.  Marlon Brando is a morally struggling longshoreman, who faces the reality that he has to stand up and testify against the union leader/mob boss.  Brando is brooding and dramatic, but has a soft spot for his tamed pigeons.  I loved the ending of the movie– evil is confronted! Justice is done! Hurrah for Marlon Brando!

For years, I also thought that A Streetcar Named Desire was a musical.  That misconception I blame on The Simpsons.

3 Responses to “Where am I getting my info about classic films?”

  1. sandy February 8, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    In Duck Soup, a family (the Lodes) drives from Nebraska to California during the Depression, looking for a better life and surviving on a single batch of Duck Soup.

    Gone with the Wind is actually what The Lorax was based on, it’s about this guy who travels around trying to convince people not to chop down trees because the tree people would die off (“a civilization…gone with the wind”).

    All About Eve is basically a film version of Genesis.

    The Philadelphia Story is about a newspaper journalist who’s trying to write a science fiction novel about his hometown.

    Harvey is about a man who is best friends with an invisible rabbit.

    • beezuskiddo February 8, 2012 at 9:14 am #

      I am glad I have you to keep me informed!

  2. amandalovesmovies November 3, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

    That’s pretty funny. There is a musical version of Sunset Blvd. Andrew Lloyd Weber wrote it and Glenn Close won a Tony for playing Norma. One of the best films about Hollywood, check out my review http://amandalovesmovies.com/2012/10/02/473

Leave a Reply

