Rejected.

22 Feb

I’ve been in a bummer mood this week.  To top it off, this morning I woke up with a form e-mail from BlogHer, announcing that my panel submission was not chosen.  I e-mailed the conference coordinator because I submitted two panel proposals (and assumed that I would get two response emails, even if both were rejected), and asked her to confirm that neither one was picked.  I’m sure that’s the case, because if they DID pick one of my proposals, I at least would have gotten one e-mail saying that they liked whichever one they liked.

Now I have to decide whether I still want to attend.  I often feel like the redheaded stepchild in the blogosphere– BlogHer is bound to be overwhelmed by Mommybloggers, and I definitely do not identify with them.  True I talk about my family a lot on this blog, but a significant part of my identity is shaped by my work life and professional activities and accomplishments.  There is a “Career” section of BlogHer, but that seems to be overwhelmed by women who blog for a living, and my perception is that there are very few women represented there who are in “traditional” full time careers, like law, engineering, pharmacy, or medicine.  I wonder whether BlogHer is not the right conference for me.  I’m looking into attending Corporate Counsel’s Social Media forum, because that might be a better fit for my specific interest.  However, attending BlogHer still remains a possibility.

I  am going to continue to focus on my writing   I have been working on putting a “Law Corner” into this site to showcase my legal publications (for anyone who is interested, I recently wrote about the Business Judgment Rule and Ownership Rights to Marcellus Shale Gas).  My firm has been very supportive of both my interest in social media and my interest in writing, and has given me numerous opportunities to pursue both.  I’ll be doing a practice group presentation in a few weeks on managed care issues, and have been doing a significant amount of research and writing about managed care litigation, so I’ll likely have a few publications on those issues soon.  

I do spend all day reading and writing for clients, and then I write about these additional issues in my free time.  Between that, and two book clubs, I spend a lot of time with the written word.  I really do like these extracurricular reading and writing activities, though, so it’s really not a chore.

For today, I need to gather up my bruised pride, and get back to it.  I find that a fancy coffee is a solid cure for a sour mood, so I treated myself to a huge delicious cafe au lait for breakfast.

And here is a completely gratuitious picture of Baby Beez and I saying “CHEEZ!” last night. Just to make me feel less mopey.

Update:  BlogHer’s been posting the agenda online.  It looks like the whole focus is how to make your blog into a job/moneymaker.  That’s not my area or interest.  Oh well.

Leave a Reply

