Oscars Eve!!!

25 Feb

The Oscars are tomorrow!  Book club is meeting at my house tomorrow night.  We’ll be discussing Mildred Pierce and enjoying champagne cocktails while playing Oscar Bingo!

Essential Supplies for the 2012 Academy Awards

I had hoped to see all the Best Picture nominees before the awards, but I only managed to see The Help, The Tree of Life, and Moneyball.  I considered watching Midnight in Paris on the On Demand, but I’m not much of a Woody Allen fan anyway, so I didn’t bother.

I’m excited they’re bringing Billy Crystal back.  He’s such a fun host, and James Franco and Anne Hathaway were a snore.

Since I know the entire internet is clamoring to know my Oscar predictions, here they are!

Best Picture: The Artist

Actor in a Leading Role: George Clooney (The Descendants)

Actress in a Leading Role: Meryl Streep (The Iron Lady)

Actor in a Supporting Role:  I am really not sure on this one. Kenneth Branagh is KENNETH BRANAGH, but the drama of Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close makes Max von Sydow an appealing choice.  Moneyball was beloved enough that it’s bound to pick something up, but I just can’t see Jonah Hill as Oscar material.  Even though it feels like too obvious of a choice to be right, I’ll go with Kenneth Branagh (My Week with Marilyn)

Actress in a Supporting Role: I want to say Melissa McCarthy (Bridesmaids), but I can’t see that kind of physical comedy picking up an Academy Award, so I’m going to go with Octavia Spencer (The Help).

Animated Feature Film:   I don’t know anything about A Cat in Paris or Chico and Rita, and I’ll throw up in my mouth if Kung Fu Panda 2, Puss in Boots, or Rango are picked, so I’m going to go with A Cat in Paris.

Cinematography:  The Tree of Life.  This film IS this Oscar.  If The Tree of Life does not win best Cinematography, the whole Academy should be replaced.

Art Direction:  Hugo.

Costume Design:  Jane Eyre (totally random guess, I have no idea).

Directing: The Artist.

Documentary Feature:  Pina (total guess, i know nothing about any of the nominees)

Documentary Short:  God is the Bigger Elvis (picked solely because “Elvis” is in the title)

Film Editing: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (because I can’t see it being left entirely behind, so why not film editing?)

Foreign Language Film:  “A Separation” from Iran

Makeup:  The Iron Lady

Music (Original Score): War Horse

Music (Original Song): The picks for this category are pathetic.  It’s either the song from the Muppets, or the song from Rio, that’s it. Seriously.  They’ll probably give it to the Muppets.

Short Film (Animated):  The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore (I like the name)

Short Film (Live Action): Tuba Atlantic (Wild guess. I like the word “Tuba”)

Sound Editing:  The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Sound Mixing: Hugo.  I have no idea what the difference is between Sound Editing and Sound Mixing. I’m guessing here.

Visual Effects:  Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows 2

Writing (Adapted Screenplay): Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Writing (Original Screenplay): The Artist

The Artist is the sweetheart of the critics this year.  I think it’s going to pick up a number of trophies, but not sweep all its nominations.

6 Responses to “Oscars Eve!!!”

  1. Sandy February 26, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    Christopher Plummer is supposed to win best supporting actor. I really want to see that movie he is in.

    After seeing The Descendants I think Jean DuJardin will win best actor. Clooney was good but I think The Artist’s characters will get rewarded for being different and unique. The Descendants might get best picture and will get best screenplay. I guess we will see though! We are playing bingo tonight too.

  2. hopita February 26, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

    Have you ever considered attending the Pittsburgh Film Office’s “Lights! Glamour! Action!” event? I worked it one year and it was a lot of fun.

    • beezuskiddo February 26, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

      We went one year and loved it. Unfortunately, it is also consistently attended by some people who I prefer not to run into, so we have held off from going the last couple years. Maybe in a few years, time will have healed those wounds, and we’ll go again.

    • beezuskiddo February 26, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      BTW, I registered for BlogHer literally one minute ago. Mr. Beez will be coming with me to NYC and staying in the hotel room, but not going to the conference. I don’t think we’re bringing the baby with us. It’s August 2-4, so mark your calendar for hanging out with him then.

  3. hopita February 27, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    Penciled in.

    The bad news is that I will probably be working all of those days. Even so, we can definitely find time to brunch or do something afterward.

    • hopita February 27, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      Er, that was supposed to be in response to the “BlogHer” comment.

Leave a Reply

