Miscellany

2 Mar

I’ve been behind in writing this week because work has been especially busy.  I was excited for Azar Nafisi’s speech with the Pittsburgh Speakers Series on Wednesday, but I ended up staying at work late and also coming down with a chest cold.  I could have dashed out and made it to the speech on time, but I wasn’t feeling well and needed the rest.  I’m sad I missed it, because I was looking forward to her speech more than any others.  If I had gone, though, I would have been much worse for the wear on Thursday and Friday.

I spent today in Ohio for work.  In the late afternoon/early evening Mr. Beez had some computer crisis at work.  Since Mr. Beez is in charge of all the computers, when there is a crisis, he has to get it fixed even if it means staying all night.  I was still in Ohio at Baby Beez’ daycare pickup time, so Mr. Beez had to go get her and bring her back to his office, and then I picked her up from his office once I got back to town.  Baby Beez and I spent the evening eating an unhealthy dinner and watching TV.  Now it’s going on 10 and Mr. Beez is still at work and doesn’t know when he’ll get home.  I got tired just reading that.

Every time a new month starts, I get bewildered.  You mean it’s [insert month]???? ALREADY?!?!  But this time it’s March. Springtime. Already.  Maybe this whole idea of Pittsburgh bypassing winter entirely and going right back to spring again will really happen.  I hope so.  I could use some more sunshine.

February was a busy month.  I’m really looking forward to March because we have very little planned on the weekends.  I desperately need some weekend time to recuperate, and to catch up on some work-related writing projects (articles and presentations).  We’ve spent so much time the last several weekends hopping from one social event to the next that I’m too tired to fit anything else in.  Several unscheduled weekends are a welcome change.

And just as I finished saying that I’m excited for an unscheduled weekend, I remembered that I need to take our parrots to the bird groomer tomorrow (yes, there are bird groomers) and I’ve been hoping to take Baby Beez to Phipps Conservatory.

The Orchid & Tropical Bonsai show is only running through Sunday, so it looks like this weekend’s calendar is already filling up.

Leave a Reply

