Station Street Hot Dogs

11 Mar

I had a dream Friday night that I went to Station Street Hot Dogs.  Naturally, upon waking on Saturday morning,  a visit became my number one goal for the day.  Station Street Hot Dogs is Kevin Sousa’s (of Salt of the Earth renown) next-to-newest undertaking, the newest being Union Pig & Chicken, which I also have to check out.

Station Street Hot Dogs has a simple menu: hot dogs and french fries.  The ingredients are high-quality, and the hot dogs are topped creatively.  It’s an approach not unlike that of Franktuary, but this town is certainly big enough for two great hot dog joints to thrive.

The decor is simple, bright and clean.  For dining in, there are ample barstools, and there is also plenty of standing-room counter space.  I wasn’t aware of the setup, and had I known beforehand I wouldn’t have brought Baby Beez on this outing, since she squirmed for the few minutes I could actually get her to sit on the stool. Mr. Beez and I tag-teamed following her around as she walked up and down the aisle, waiving at people.

The staff is exceptionally friendly, and the service quick. The food was fresh and delicious.  I had heard about hot dogs that “snap” before, but never had one and really didn’t understand the concept. How could a hot dog snap? Were they crunchy?  These ones snap, I get it now, and they are tasty.

I had the Banh Mi dog, topped with pork liver, pickled cucumbers and onions, jalapeno, sweet chili and cilantro.  It was delicious.  The only downfall was with all the pickled vegetables, the bun became quickly soggy, but this was a minor issue and certainly didn’t spoil the dish.  The chili cheese dog was also VERY tempting to me, so I’m going to have to go back to try it.

Mr. Beez had a plain hot dog.  He’s not much of a hot dog fan, and even less of a fancy hot dog fan, so the appeal of Station Street was lost on him.  He did have an order of duck fat fries that he thoroughly enjoyed.  I ordered the regular fries, which were fresh and crispy and delicious.  Mr. Beez’ duck fat fries were also fresh, crispy, and delicious, but also a touch richer and saltier in taste.

There is a large parking lot, which is a huge draw for me.  After 12 years, I’ve succumbed to the Pittsburgher parking obsession, and I am much more likely to go somewhere that has ample and free parking, than if the parking is inconvenient or costs money.  Here, parking is no problem at all.

The clientele was about 2/3 hipsters, 1/3 miscellaneous mix of non hipsters.  It wasn’t packed while we were there, and I’d imagine that at an exceptionally busy time, the quantity of ironic moustachios and skinny jeans would be stifling.  I was wearing skinny jeans, flats, and a Red Meat t-shirt (which one hipster even complimented) so I suppose I fit right in.
Station Street on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

