Working Mom Survival Guide, Suzanne Riss and Terry Palagano (2011)

13 Mar

The Working Mom Survival Guide is from the editors of Working Mother magazine, and is based on a comprehensive survey they took of working moms.  It focuses on the practical, and thankfully doesn’t bog itself down in the debate over whether a mother should be working, or how much.

This book would have been extremely helpful for me to read while I was pregnant. It has a handy timeline of how to divide up your work and prepare for taking maternity leave, as well as suggestions for how and when to approach sensitive topics related to pregnancy and maternity leave with employers.

For mothers already back to work, many of the tips are common sense.  There were, however, several tips that were new ideas to me.  For example, the authors recognize and accept that a working mother won’t be able to make it to every school event for their child or children, so they suggest things like sending a friend or relative with a video camera, making special arrangements to watch a rehearsal, etc.  This book doesn’t expect you to be superwoman– it acknowledges that you can’t do everything and be everything all at once, and it strives to help you do the best you can without burning yourself out.

I actually found it reassuring that a lot of the suggestions were common sense, or things I had figured out on my own.  At times when I am tired and frustrated, I ask myself “Millions of women are working mothers, what is wrong with me that I feel so tired, and it’s so hard for me?”  This book made me feel like I’m actually in the same boat as everyone else and doing OK.

The book itself is only $11 on Amazon.com, and comes with a free one-year subscription to Working Mother magazine ($9 value).  If you’re interested in work/life balance issues, this is a good read and a good deal.

3 Responses to “Working Mom Survival Guide, Suzanne Riss and Terry Palagano (2011)”

  1. Lindsay @ LindsayInNYC March 13, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    Definitely adding this book to my “to read” list!! Thank you 🙂

  2. soniabgill March 14, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    I keep forgetting to ask: Have you read “I Don’t Know How She Does It”? It’s fiction, but I think it might resonate. It’s from the POV of a working mother (she manages a hedgefund).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2012 book list « beezuskiddo - March 13, 2012

    […] Working Mom Survival Guide, Suzanne Riss and Terry Palagano (2011) Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailLike this:Like2 bloggers like this post. 1 Comment by BeezusKiddo on January 2, 2012  •  Permalink Posted in Uncategorized Tagged books […]

Leave a Reply

