Feeling Well Rested

26 Mar

Well what a surprise, a young lawyer who doesn’t feel well rested. Stop the presses.

The truth is, I actually don’t do too badly with sleep.  I shoot for a 10pm bedtime, but usually fall asleep somewhere around 11.  I wake up at 6am to get ready for work.  That’s about 7 hours of sleep. I have little room to complain.

Even with a decent amount of sleep, I can’t manage to feel well rested.  I spend the first part of the day running around like a crazy person, getting the little on ready for daycare, and usually finish up some assignment first thing at the office while chugging down a large coffee.  Somewhere between 9:30 and 10am, I have a crash, and want to fall asleep on my keyboard.  Around that time, I sometimes chug down more coffee, or sometimes chew stick after stick of gum.  I wind up having a decent amount of energy until around 3 when I crash again (and seek out more coffee).

  I’m DOIN IT RONG.  I know that.  First and foremost, I need to cut back on the coffee.  8-10 ounces of coffee in the morning is a nice pick me up.  A huge 20 ounce cup that leaves me still sleepy, and crashing later, is not doing me any favors.  Cutting back on caffeiene is going to mean, at first, some very exhausted and unpleasant days, and I have been putting that off because I feel like I don’t have a margin for that kind of exhaustion. 

I also need to drink more water and exercise more. There is no way around that.  All this coffee leaves me dehydrated, and all this sitting around leads me to being more tired (and sitting around more).  Exercise gives you energy. Plain and simple.  Even if its just a daily walk, I need to do more of it. Lots more.

Do you feel well rested?  What tips do you have for keeping your energy up?

3 Responses to “Feeling Well Rested”

  1. sandy March 26, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    Our first or second meeting with the nutritionist, we got a lecture about how artificial stimulants like caffeine and sugar negatively affect the thyroid and ultimately lead to less energy and not more. So he would recommend a complete cleanse. Probably not the answer you’re looking for.

    • BeezusKiddo March 26, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

      Yeah, he’s probably right. But I don’t waaaaannna 😦

  2. soniabgill March 26, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    I never feel well rested BUT exercise definitely gives me more energy overall. Unfortunately, the only time I can exercise is in the evening so it’s harder to wind down. I’ve read the ideal time to exercise is at lunch because it gives you exercise for the day after you are awake and limber. Can you squeeze that in? (hahahah)

    What about a piece of fruit instead of coffee? I’ve also read that an apple has the equivalent energy boost to a cup of coffee (but added benefit of vitamins and fiber!).

Leave a Reply

