Megamillions

2 Apr

At least 3 people won the $640 million Megamillions lottery jackpot this week.  I am not one of them.  Admittedly, I didn’t even buy a ticket (I forgot).  Mr. Beez bought a ticket, but it wasn’t a winner. Next time. Right?

At our anniversary dinner, Mr. Beez asked me “If you won the Megamillions, would you keep working?” Without skipping a beat I exclaimed “YES.”  I really enjoy my work– I get to work on sophisticated and often newsworthy disputes and there’s lots of thinking and opportunity to develop novel legal approaches.  I have one of those brains that is always whirring, whirring, whirring, and my work keeps my brain enjoyably busy.  If I won the Megamillions, would I work less and have more leisure and travel time? Oh sure.  I know I wouldn’t want the administrative hassle of hanging my own shingle.   I would keep doing what I’m doing, but I wouldn’t be rushing to max out my billables, and would probably spend a bit more time focusing on writing and speaking engagements.  But I wouldn’t stop working.

If we won the Megamillions, we would probably buy a new house. Our house is old and in need of significant renovations.  We’re slowly working through those repairs.  If we had millions of dollars, I’d say “forget it” and just get a new place.  I’d also use the money for exciting things like paying off my student loans, and buying a car with heated seats. (It wouldn’t have to be a fancy car. Just one that keeps my bum warm.)

Of course, I’d drop a chunk of change on travel.  Right now, Mr. Beez and I are greedily eyeing the “Mountain Lodges of Peru” hike to Macchu Picchu with luxury accommodations (it’s actually much less expensive than we anticipated, and we’re going to try to save up for it and go in the next couple years, even without winning the lottery).

So what would you do if you won the MegaMillions?  Would you keep working?

Leave a Reply

