Move to the Beat!

3 Apr

I had the epiphany yesterday that I really have no excuse to not work out.  I’ve run through these excuses so far:  the gym’s hours aren’t convenient to my schedule, and I don’t want to wake up at 5am to work out, and I don’t want to work out at lunch and get gross in the middle of the workday, and I’m too tired at night to work out at night.  Then last night I realized that Comcast offers workout videos on OnDemand.  I can exercise at home, with no equipment, at my own convenience.  All my excuses have been shot.

The only remaining excuse is that I look like a darn fool when I try to do anything that remotely requires coordination.  Sandy saw me try Hip Hop Aerobics. She can attest to this.  Mr. Beez knows how uncoordinated I am, and did not want to give up precious TV time for me to flop around the den like an injured whale.  I decided instead to do a little morning workout.  I woke up at 6am, did my little exercise video, and was still showered and dressed (and even got Baby Beez dressed and fed) and we were all out the door by 7:35. 

The video I did was one of those cardio walk things, which a lot of stepping this way and that way, and not too demanding for someone as ungraceful as myself.  I did try to do the Leslie Sansone walking videos once, but the music was SO TERRIBLE that I could not stand it any more.  On the video this morning, the instructor was not obnoxiously cheery (she only instructed the viewer to “smile!” once. It’s 6am. I AM NOT SMILING.  But she did not continue to insist, so I can live with that one instruction), and the music is just an unobtrusive beat.  It wasn’t bad. It was actually kind of fun. 

Am I the only person on earth who LOVED Mousercise?  I was a lazy kid and never actually did the exercise, but it was fun to watch Mickey in his headband working up a sweat.  My favorite exercise was this “BUGABOO” thing they did. I remember it being kind of creepy but mesmerizing.  If someone can find me Mousercise DVDs, I will exercise every day.  I may even wear legwarmers.

6 Responses to “Move to the Beat!”

  1. Bryon Gill April 3, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    Get a recumbent exercise bike. You can read while pedaling.

    • BeezusKiddo April 3, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

      Another excuse: I can’t ride a recumbent bike, because it causes me to have shooting pains down my legs and throbbing pains in the soles of my feet. The only reason I can think of is that the way I’m sitting hits nerves the wrong way.
      However, we did just get rid of our ridiculously huge beanbag chair to make room for a treadmill in the basement. We plan to be getting one very soon.

      • Bryon Gill April 4, 2012 at 7:28 am #

        You’ve tested this on multiple bikes? They tend to have subtly different seats, it might be just a matter of finding one that provides an acceptable angle for you. The one we got is higher than most for instance. Do you have the same problem with normal bikes?

      • BeezusKiddo April 4, 2012 at 9:25 am #

        I have tried a few different recumbent bikes, and always have the same problem (although to differing degrees). I also have the same problem with upright bikes, although to a far lesser extent.
        I do use the exercise bikes sometimes and just deal with the discomfort, but I only do so occasionally.

        You reminded me, though, that we should measure the basement height and compare it to the approximate height of the treadmill + us running on it. It’ll be a pointless purchase if we’re smacking our headso n the ceiling.

  2. Sandy April 3, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    Heh, Hip Hop Aerobics. That was fun though.

    I like a workout on On Demand by Holly … Somebody. She’s perky but not obnoxiously so (although at 6am, everyone perky is obnoxious). The one I did was sort of an interval training where you’d do 30 seconds of cardio and then 30 seconds of weights or something.

  3. soniabgill April 4, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    Try Billy Blanks (seriously), the old Buns/Abs/Legs of Steel (seriously) (if you can find them on DVD!), and 30-Day Shred (very hard but definitely efficient and effective).

Leave a Reply

