Crazy week and visit to Savoy

13 Apr

The last two days have been nonstop koo-koo-bananas.  I frequently spend long days in my office writing and thinking, but this week was quite the opposite.  Today alone I had to go to both State and Federal Court in one morning.  Yesterday, I gave a presentation to the reporters of the Pittsburgh Business Times about emerging issues in libel law.  I enjoy presenting, and the reporters seemed to be interested in the issues, so it was a nice afternoon.  I plan to eventually turn my presentation into an article, but I’ve had about a million hours of presentations and articles and all kinds of nonbillable stuff in the last couple of months, so the article is going on the backburner for the time being.

It is nice to have days of running around once in a while.  Being constantly on your feet makes the day pass quicker, and it’s nice to e up and talking to people.  It doesn’t help you with tackling the to-do list, though, so I’ve got some motions to write and documents to review over the weekend.

Mr. Beez is out of town next week.  That will make me lonely, but it will also guarantee some diligent evenings.  I’ll have to get out of work in time to pick up the little one from day care, and she’s in bed between 7:30 and 8, so the later hours of the evening will be devoted to working on that to-do list.

Now on to a more interesting subject: Savoy Restaurant and Lounge.  My friend Sonia and I dined there last night, and were quite impressed.  First of all, the decor of the restaurant is very swanky/loungy.  The men were in suits, the women were in dresses.  Later in the night it evolved to clubwear (which I don’t own, so it’s good we went early).  When we were there for our 6pm dinner, there were a number of important looking men chewing on cigars, and long-tressed women sipping fancy martinis.

The martini and cocktail list is impressive.  Savoy clearly specializes in fruity, complicated drinks.  I was in the mood for a glass of wine, and they had a good selection.  I went for a red blend (I like a surprise!) that was very delicious.

The service was very attentive.  We had a server and an assistant-server, both of whom quickly refilled our glasses and cleared plates.  The food came out a little quicker than expected– we weren’t quite done with our appetizer when the entree arrived– but the servers did not push us to hurry.

The food was very tasty.  We had an appetizer of General Tso’s wings.  Personally, I think of wings as a mechanism to get vast gobs of sauce in my mouth.  These were the mini fried chicken style of wings, that came with a dainty cup of sauce for drizzling.  I would have preferred the wings to be drowning in sauce, but as they were they were very good.  There was no shortcoming to the dish, I just have a bit of a different preference.

I usually don’t comment on bread baskets, but the bread was very good.  The basket was stuffed with italian bread, asiago rolls, and sundried tomato/olive bread (I think…).  The rolls were my favorite, but all three were fresh and flavorful, and were well complemented by the olive oil provided.

For dinner I had the shrimp and grits, which was also fantastic.  The shrimp were huge and meaty.  The sauce was tangy and sweet.  The grits did need a little help with consistency, there were some almost-crunchy bits, and I suspect they had a little longer to cook.  It only detracted from the dish a little, and all around it was very good.

I was sheepish about taking pictures at Savoy, because it seemed like the place where cool people hang out, not the kind of place where dorky food lovers hang out.  When my dessert came, though, I just could not help myself.  It was too delicious looking (and delicious) to pass up a photo.

I had the brownie sundae, which sounds ordinary, but was anything but.  There were three rich brownies topped with a sweet ice cream (maple? praline? I am not sure of the flavor, but it was great), a toasted marshmallow, and I think those were chopped nuts.  I don’t quite remember, because I was too preoccupied with the marshmallow-ice cream-brownie combination.  It was accompanied by two warm, freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies and fresh berries.  I think this was the first time in the history of my life that I got too full and could not finish my dessert.  It was a sin to leave bites behind, but I would have literally exploded, even with just one theeeen leetle mint.  (Bonus points if you caught that reference).

4 Responses to “Crazy week and visit to Savoy”

  1. Sandy April 13, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    It’s wafer-thin.

    I want in next time you go to the Savoy!

  2. soniabgill April 14, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    Thank you again for the invite! I had a nice time with you.

    I am going to be a bad guest though and say that I wasn’t impressed enough to want to go back. The bread was great but I thought it was all downhill from there (although notice I didn’t have trouble finishing anything!). The fried wings were very, very salty, a little too much for me. I ordered the angel hair pasta with shrimp: it was like a jar of seasoning was dumped in the dish, I kept getting mouthful after mouthful of pepper kernels or something and it made me cough a lot. Pasta was overcooked–pretty easy to do with angel hair, admittedly, but you’d expect better culinary skills for the price. I took a chance ordering the carrot cake deconstructed dessert, sounded interesting but it was awful: the cake was very dry. I expected more for the price, is all I’m saying.

    • BeezusKiddo April 14, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      Sorry your food didn’t turn out! It was a nice dinner out, though!

Leave a Reply

