A Round Revelation

14 Apr

I am a bagel person, not a donut person.  I’ve heard all the declarations of praise for the sugary goodness of donuts, but I’m not sold.  If you give me a choice of a toasted savory rosemary bagel slathered in butter, or a donut (even with sprinkles), I’m picking the bagel.  Unless it’s 3pm and I’m caffeine and energy deprived, then I might pick a donut to give me a jolt of sugar.  When I was pregnant with Baby Beez, this all changed, and I wanted ALL DONUTS ALL THE TIME.  Dunkin became my favorite place.  I dreamed of iced, sprinkle-topped chocolate donuts.  I lived and breathed donuts.  Once that baby was born, I reverted to my bagel ways.

Friday was my day to bring breakfast for the office breakfast club.  In the past I’ve brought a variety of muffins and pastries from Costco, and one time I went all out and treated my coworkers to La Gourmandine.  This week I was lazy and indecisive, and went with that old standby Dunkin Donuts.  I made the mistake of calling my order in with only one hour advance notice.  Don’t do that. You will get scolded.  If you’re buying breakfast for the office, they want 4 hours notice. GOT IT?

Once I finally schlepped everything up to the office kitchen, and it was time for me to pick my breakfast, for once a donut actually caught my eye.  IF I’m going to eat a donut, it’s got to have sprinkles, or at least chocolate icing..but for some strange reason, the butternut donut, which had neither, seemed appealing.

YOU GUYS IT IS AMAZING.

It’s super sweet, and is super sweet and fluffy and covered in a crunchy outside.  It was delicious and I wanted another and another and another.  It was the only butternut donut in the box, so “more” was not an option (unless I wanted to walk down a few blocks to another Dunkin….nah).  It’s for the best, because having another would have been TOO sweet.  Still, I’ve been thinking about butternut donuts nonstop since Friday. These butternut donuts could turn me into a donut person. Yummmmm.

2 Responses to “A Round Revelation”

  1. Heather April 14, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

    I am also not a donut person, but Dunkin’ Donuts has pulled me in with their Toasted Coconut donut. It, like the butternut one, is a bit crunchy on the outside and silky sweet on the inside. Ah-ma-zing. Maybe you’d like that one, too?

    • BeezusKiddo April 14, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

      I am pretty sure the butternut and coconut ones are fairly similar. I will have to try it. Yummmmmmmmmmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

