Szmidt’s Deli

23 Apr

I woke up on the wrong side of the bed today. I was ANGRY ANGRY ANGRY and without much reason.  I blame the weather. I was just starting to get in the swing of the nice warm springtime, when it decided to jerk us around with threats of snow.  Work was incredibly frustrating today, because I had a lot of stuff to do, waning motivation, and various things kept coming up that interrupted me from doing the things I needed to do.  I felt like I was treading water, and was not pleased.

By the time I got home, all I wanted for dinner was comfort food, and I did not want to make it myself. I remembered some glowing recommendations for Greenfield’s proud deli establishment, Szmidt’s Old World Deli, and barked orders for Mr. Beez to go pick me up a sammich.

I had the Capasso sandwich, which features roast beef, caramelized onions, cheddar cheese, garlic mayo, lettuce and tomato.  I also munched on potato cheddar pierogies (top right) and buffalo chicken pierogies (top left, topped with blue? bleu? cheese dressing).  The food was all quite good, and made for a filling stick-to-your-ribs take out dinner.  Mr. Beez and I have friends who have admitted that they sometimes drive in from Fox Chapel for Szmidt’s, and I don’t know if I’d go that far.  There are few foodstuffs that would motivate me to drive up 28.

Everything at Szmidt’s is homemade, and that may be why it has received such a devoted following.  The pierogi tasted how I imagine a polish grandma’s pierogi would REALLY taste…except I don’t have a polish grandma, so I am just making that up. There was a lot of butter though, and that’s what makes a pierogi great!  Szmidt’s puts great effort into brining and roasting meats, baking bread, and making everything is fresh.  The roast beef really was tasty, but I wondered if baking the bread themselves might be an unnecessary expenditure of effort.  The bun was good, but it was a pretty typical bun.  Having baked bread before, I know it’s a pain in the backside, and I felt like baking their own bread made the work harder than it might necessarily need to be.  In any event, there is something admirable about putting in that kind of elbow grease, and Szmidt’s certainly deserves kudos for that.

 

Leave a Reply

