30 Before 30: First Class!

16 May

We took our trip back from NYC in style– with an upgrade to first class!

Sittin’ in the fancy seats!

OK, the flight from JFK to PIT is a short one and on a regional jet, so the difference in quality between first class and coach wasn’t that much, but we had celebrated a little too enthusiastically at the wedding, and were in no state to be stuffed into stiff little chairs.

I only fly about 6 times a year.  When I started plotting out my 30 before 30 list, I quickly learned that “fly first class” would be trickier than I imagined.  I don’t fly often enough to get any kind of courtesy upgrade, and buying first class tickets would mean paying out the nose (No, I will NOT pay $500 to fly RT to New York).  You can request to purchase an upgrade at the gate, but flights these days are usually SO full that none are available. And a very grouchy clerk at one airline barked at me “NO, WE DO NOT SELL UPGRADES. EVER.” Yeeesh, lady!

When we first approached the podium and requested to purchase an upgrade on our flight home, there was only 1 first class seat left.  Mr. Beez graciously offered to buy it for me.  Then, it turned out that 2 people didn’t show, and so we wound up getting to sit together in first.

So this is my summary of my experience in first class: I got to drink tea out of a real cup. They gave me a cookie.  The chairs were a bit more comfortable than in coach.  That’s about it.  It was certainly nicer than coach, and I’ll keep pestering those gate clerks about the availability of upgrades, but I’m not going to pay double for any first class fare.

3 Responses to “30 Before 30: First Class!”

  1. Jenny May 16, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    Mr. Beez is actually the influence behind why I have flown first class. When I was flying back from your wedding the airline gave me the option for $100 when I did online check in. He said, “Do it!” so I did. Now I want to fly first class EVERYWHERE. It has not happened since 😦

    • BeezusKiddo May 17, 2012 at 7:55 am #

      Nice!!! Yeah it’s a shame that the upgrades aren’t available very often 😦
      When we went on our honeymoon, we asked if we could buy an upgrade on our flight to Barcelona. They said “Sure, for $3,000 per ticket”….what?! This is the first time we’ve been successful with getting an upgrade, but I’m not counting on it happening again soon.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 30 before 30 « BeezusKiddo - May 16, 2012

    […] Fly first class. Accomplished May 13, 2012 […]

Leave a Reply

