Mom Confession: I’m Terrified of Potty Training

19 May

Baby Beez is 20 months old, so either potty training is coming up soon, or I should have started it already. I have no idea.

I am terrified because I have no idea what I’m doing.  When I was pregnant, I spent hours poring over websites and messageboards about childbirth and parenting.  After plenty of stressed-out sleepless nights and a few gray hairs, I realized that everyone on the internet is crazy. I quit reading about parenting on the internet, and stuck to calling my parents, my in-real-life friends, or Baby Beez’ pediatrician when I had questions.

Now potty training is coming up, and I have no idea what to do. I am terrified.  I remember when it was time to transition Baby Beez from a bottle to a sippy. She just didn’t GET how to use a sippy.  I was convinced she’d never learned, and she’d demand a bottle forever, and I’d be branded a failure of a mother.  Somehow they did something magic* at daycare, and one day, she totally got it, and it’s been sippy success ever since.  Potty training’s not going to be easy like that.

*(I think “something magic” was that they just kept giving her the sippy till she figured it out.)

Ok, so potty training. I suppose the first step is getting her a kid potty.  Then the second step is encouraging her to use it.  Any suggestions from non-crazy people on the internet would be appreciated.

6 Responses to “Mom Confession: I’m Terrified of Potty Training”

  1. Erin May 19, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    I was just as terrified, and I never even read any parenting books because my dumbass was banking on the fact that Henry had already been down this road twice before. Turns out prior knowledge did nothing to help when it came to potty training, because kids are so different & particular.

    With Chooch, we just kept sitting him on the potty seat (the jerk preferred Henry’s cheap, basic model over the awesome flashy, music-playing one that I bought) and prayed he would get it. Literally the only thing that helped coax him was introducing a sticker chart – the idea of picking out a sticker really seemed to entice him.

    I’m pretty sure we started this right around the time he turned 2 and I freaked out because I thought we were super late, but I think that’s a pretty normal age.

    Good luck, & try not to stress out too much! I totally did and it didn’t help AT ALL.

    • BeezusKiddo May 20, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 I can’t guarantee I won’t stress out…I stress out over everything 🙂 We haven’t tried anything yet, but if Baby Beez is giving hassles, I’ll definitely try out a sticker chart!

  2. nikki May 19, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    You can call me any time. I do this for a living. You have an advantage by using a childcare center. They will use a schedule and introduce her to the toilet as kids are using it. Conference with them and find out their plans. We usually start at 2 and use cues from the child to determine readiness. I suggest a ring to put in your toilet rather than a potty chair. start small. Take her in the bathroom after she eats or drinks and let her watch you go. Explain the process. I sit down, I wash my hands, just everything as a narrative. No stress. Keep it fun for now.

    • BeezusKiddo May 20, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

      Thanks! I probably will take you up on harassing you endlessly for potty training advice 🙂 OK, so first step I’ll make arrangements to chat with the daycare teachers. Then we’ll go from there.
      I do take her in the bathroom with me now, but that’s mostly to keep her from tearing up the house while I’m in there. I’ll add a narrative in, that’s a great idea!

  3. Sandy May 21, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    I thought I commented on Saturday but I don’t think it went through.

    Mostly at this point we just talk about the potty, read books about the potty, and sometimes Elena will sit on the potty. We haven’t gotten much further. I don’t think she’s ready. But from what I understand that’s normal, and she’ll let us know when she is ready. She seems to have stopped pooping in the tub KNOCK ON WOOD.

  4. Viki May 21, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    We use a potty that sits on the ground. When Ryan needs to poop, we use a step stool and the regular toilet (no seat topper). That way he’s mostly independent, without the really messy clean up.

    Sandy’s right, if you’re ready and they aren’t it’s a lot more work. I’m so glad Elena didn’t poop when she and Ryan shared the bath!

Leave a Reply

