Fake-ation

25 May

It’s the day before Memorial Day Weekend, and most everyone has already ditched out early.  I, of course, am going to three separate motions court sessions today.  I’m not complaining, they’re easy walk-through motions, so it’s a-ok with me.  I am, however, pretty much the only person downtown today wearing a suit.

Every year as the weather turns warmer, I start getting excited for SUMMER VACATION.  Except I’m a grown up now.  Summer Vacation doesn’t exist any more.  I haven’t quite wrapped my head around it.  I keep feeling like I’m going to have some huge break, where I’ll get to sleep in, and read books on the porch with an iced coffee, and after long lazy days I’ll finally feel totally refreshed.  I keep waiting and waiting and waiting for that break. But I’m a grown up now. I don’t have Summer Vacation.  So I keep waiting, but it never comes.

This weekend is about as close as I’m going to get to a Summer Vacation.  I’ve actually got a few minutes to breathe between assignments right now, so I will be able to enjoy the weekend instead of using it to play catch-up on the things I couldn’t get done during the week.  It would be an ideal weekend to have family time together, except Mr. Beez somehow got stuck doing the night processing tonight AND working on a huge project all weekend.  It is likely I won’t see him until Tuesday (during these huge projects, he often doesn’t get home until I am already in bed, and he leaves before I wake up). 

Picture from PopCity Media

That means Baby Beez and I will be hanging out together this weekend.  I’m fighting the temptation to overschedule us for things, and I’ve limited us to one activity each day.  On Saturday we will be hanging out with our friend Alison, and going to the Aviary and checking out their new feature– the Parrots of the Caribbean. If they are anything like our parrots at home, there will be screaming and pooping and chewing on everything.  We’ll also be going to picnics on both Saturday and Sunday.  Tonight is the Ben Folds concert with the Symphony, and I’m extra excited about that!!  I guess it will be a busy weekend after all.

Hope you all have a lovely long weekend!

Leave a Reply

