Grilled Veggies, Yummy Yummy

29 May

I LOVE the summer because it means it’s time for GRILLING! When Mr. Beez and I first bought our house, we had a charcoal grill. We had no money, and a charcoal grill was cheaper. We had never owned a gas grill, so we didn’t know what we were missing. Then Mr. Beez’ parents bought us a gas grill as a gift. Yes, there are some charcoal purists who prefer the taste of charcoal grilled food (when I’m at a charcoal grill, though, most of the food ends up tasting like lighter fluid), but it takes forever to heat up and cool down the grill. For us, a gas grill has meant fast, easy, and healthy summertime dinners.

20120529-203018.jpg

Although I eat meat now, I was a vegetarian for over 10 years (I started eating meat again when I was pregnant with Baby Beez, and had unending cravings for Uncle Sam’s subs). Winter time can be tough for vegetarians, because comfort food is so often full of meat. In the summer time, grilling means easy veggie friendly recipes. And if you want something more substantial than veggies, grilled tofu or seitan is delicious. (Check out The Veganomicon for a cheap, easy, and excellent seitan recipe.)

Especially when our farmshare deliveries are in full swing, grilled veggies are a meal staple. In the morning, I’ll slice up some veggies and throw together a marinade, let it all marinate in the fridge during the day, and when I get home, I just toss the veggies on the grill, and voila! Dinner!  This weekend, I even managed to make dessert on the grill! Just spritz your favorite fruit with a small amount of olive oil and toss it on the grill. We had grilled mango. YUM.

20120529-203006.jpg

I have a super secret marinade recipe. It’s so secret, even I don’t know it. Ok, the secret is that isn’t really a recipe, I just mix up everything in the fridge and cabinet that seems appropriate for a marinade. Usually the marinade has olive oil, one or more different kinds of vinegars, garlic and onion, whatever oil-based dressings I have in the fridge, sometimes other spices and herbs, and whatever else I see that looks good. It hasn’t turned out badly yet.

20120529-203027.jpg

YUM grilled mango!

One Response to “Grilled Veggies, Yummy Yummy”

  1. enjoywithjoy May 29, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    Who needs meat if you have portobello mushrooms…yum!

Leave a Reply

