Welcome to Pittsburgh, Furries!

15 Jun

Anthrocon has arrived in Pittsburgh again.  The cultural district is flooded with dogs and cats and dragons and foxes and things I don’t even know what they are…

Personally, I think its great that Anthrocon chooses Pittsburgh each year.  The attendees are generally considerate, and are usually treated with friendliness (and a little confusion) by the city’s residents.  The conference is great for the City’s economy- attendees spend plenty of money in downtown hotels, restaurants, etc.  And they also make a couple of June days each year a little more interesting.

Each year some friends and I make our way to the Original Fish Market in the Westin Hotel for lunch.  This serves two purposes, (1) the food is great, (2) ideal location for watching those strange but fascinating furries.  My usual companions are at the bench bar conference right now (I’m not 😦  this is the first year in my career that I haven’t attended! But I leave for a fun weekend in Philly tonight, so I can’t complain), so I dragged my coworkers to the fish market with me.  The furries were strutting around, showing off their costumes, and posing for pictures.  The Westin Hotel lobby was packed with a funny mix of furries/conference attendees, downtown workers in suits and dress clothes who took a stroll down to rubberneck at the strangeness, and a few extremely confused and somewhat frightened yinzers who had no idea what was going on. 

2 Responses to “Welcome to Pittsburgh, Furries!”

  1. Aviva Diamond June 15, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    Fantastic picture!

    • BeezusKiddo June 15, 2012 at 11:18 am #

      Thanks 🙂 All the furries are super enthusiastic about getting their picture taken. It was fun.

Leave a Reply

