Firing on all Cylinders, and No End in Sight

18 Jun

Maybe it’s just a case of the Mondays, but I’m feeling burned out.  It’s partially my own fault– those few minutes in the weekend that I might actually be able to relax, I should actually try to relax.  Instead, I want to go out and do things and have fun.  It’s my only opportunity to go out and do things and have fun, and I don’t want the world to pass me by while I’m snoozing.  I’ve been full-speed-ahead at work since at least February, and even though I’ve had some nice weekends away, none of them have left me feeling rejuvinated.

Work is extra busy, which is good, I’m not complaining, but it also means that there is no end to the busy busy madness anytime soon.

So what do you do to fight burnout?

I’m thinking that finding a fantastic, gripping, can’t-g0-to-bed-til-I-finish-this-part book might do some good, and I do manage to find a few minutes of reading time before bed each night.  Here’s where I need your help– I need some suggestions!

The last book I read like that was Room.  All the Harry Potter books also had that effect on me (didn’t they on everyone?)  What book could you just not put down?

8 Responses to “Firing on all Cylinders, and No End in Sight”

  1. alenaslife June 18, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    This sounds like an excellent burn-out remedy. Might I suggest some of my favorites: THE PARTICULAR SADNESS OF LEMON CAKE, A LAND MORE KIND THAN HOME, THE HOMECOMING OF SAMUEL LAKE, MEMOIRS OF A GEISHA. I could go on and on…It’s also nice to see mention of ROOM, which I thought was a terrific book.

    • BeezusKiddo June 18, 2012 at 10:09 am #

      thanks for the suggestions 🙂 I did read Memoirs of a Geisha and really liked it, but I haven’t read the other ones so I’ll check them out!

  2. Tracy June 18, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    I really liked the hunger games series, also hypocrite in a pouffy white dress, god-shaped hole, the infernal devices series, beautiful creatures… Hope that’s a good start 🙂

    • BeezusKiddo June 18, 2012 at 10:13 am #

      Oh I LOVED the Hunger Games!!! I’ll check out those other ones, thanks 🙂

  3. nikki June 18, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    I’m reading the fifty shades trilogy right now. I’ve also read all 23 books by Janet evanovich in the Stephanie plum series. I loved all of them in an easy reading no real thinking kind of way. Also the Gallagher girl series by ally carter is an easy, juvenile fiction series.

  4. nikki June 18, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    Also, I’m doing zumba to fight burnout.

  5. soniabgill June 18, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    Threshold for burnout is such a personal thing but I know I actively manage it by scheduling Me Time into my week to make sure I take care of my own needs. This includes, as often as I can, trying to not have any plans at least 1-2 Saturdays a month (which are different for me from Sundays, since I can both sleep in AND stay up late!). I think you have to find your own way to pace yourself which no doubt will be different from anyone else.

    As for books: it’s been a long time since I couldn’t put down a book, but the last time that was the case was with Jodi Piccoult (although in hindsight I remember thinking that reading her entire collection wasn’t necessary since they are a bit formulaic). If you haven’t read her stuff, I wonder what the attorney in you will think about her “dilemmas”?

  6. soniabgill June 18, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

    Oh! I recently read The Book Thief (technically I still have a few dozen pages to read but my e-copy checked back into the library automatically) which was gripping. I also will recommend to you my favorite authors (maybe I’ve done this before), none of which are light reading but definitely make me ponder things: Joyce Carol Oates, Anne Tyler, Margaret Atwood.

    I know you didn’t find Game of Thrones all that gripping, but that was a series I couldn’t put down. If you enjoy fantasy at all, you might also try the Wheel of Time series (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Wheel_of_Time), but I have to say that after the third book, I had to stop. Husband thinks that if I’d read them as they came out (essentially what he did, iirc), that it was easier to read every book and to stay intrigued. I found that the author (Jordan) was reminding readers too much of stuff in the previous books, which I’d like just read the week before 🙂

Leave a Reply

