Bills, Bills, Bills (P-G Article featuring yours truly!)

25 Jun

The Post-Gazette interviewed me a few weeks back for an article on billable hours, which was published today.   Of course, the minute the interview was over and I hung up the phone, I panicked over whether I said anything stupid, but it looks like I did a-ok! Yay!

Related thought on billable hours:  I spend 1-2 hours a week just writing up my time.  Not working, just summarizing what I’ve been working on.  That comes to about 50-100 hours PER YEAR of time just spent writing up time.  That’s 1 to 2 weeks of full time work! GAH!  My method is that I keep a time diary throughout the day of what I’m working on, but since it’s such a mish-mash of my own notes, afterward I have to go back and summarize it, which is the real time suck. So if anyone has any BRILLIANT timesaving ideas for writing up time, I am ALL ears.

 

3 Responses to “Bills, Bills, Bills (P-G Article featuring yours truly!)”

  1. April June 25, 2012 at 8:24 am #

    Dragon Speak 😉

  2. Lindsay @ LindsayInNYC June 25, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    Unfortunately, my only suggestion (which I’m sure you’ve heard before) is to simultaneously bill. But that doesn’t work for everyone either. I have trouble remembering things from one day to the next so that’s my best option.

  3. soniabgill June 25, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    That article is great! Congratulations 🙂

    It’s been more than 10 years since I had a position that required tracking billable hours, but I found daily maintenance was easiest. We had a spreadsheet where we logged in hours spent on which clients/projects in 15 minute intervals. I was in the habit of entering this information at the end of every day (or sometimes also at lunch if I had time); does your firm use something like this? I imagine today there are better online bill-tracking systems 😉

Leave a Reply

