Allegro Hearth and Soba. In One Day. Insane.

26 Jun

My Sunday was so overwhelmingly full of decadence and deliciousness, that I can’t even handle it.  My dear friend Christine and I had plans to do brunch, but since Mr. Beez was still in the middle of the-weekend-of-never-ending-work, Baby Beez was going to tag along.  I didn’t have it in me to fight that thrashing beastie again, so we decided to take it outdoors and have brunch in Mellon Park with Bach Beethoven & Brunch.  There was a fun klezmer band playing, and there were tons of other little kids there, so when Baby Beez stole all our plastic spoons and started running all over the place, it was no big deal.  Fun brunch with a toddler! Who would have known!

For our brunch, we had a delicious feast from Allegro Hearth bakery.

The pastries were photogenic, but the real star of brunch was the baguette (which we devoured with brie/honey/apples, and with prosciutto).  The baguette wasn’t too crusty, wasn’t too chewy, but was just right.  I can’t wait to go back and pick up a sourdough, or a raisin walnut loaf!

Allegro Hearth Bakery on Urbanspoon

Little beastie playing in the park.

A gluttonous morning was followed by an even more gluttonous evening.  I ventured with my pals Sandy and Ben to Soba, for a grown-up dinner in celebration of both of their birthdays.  In my experience, their small dishes are unfailingly delicious.  I had the yellowfin tuna sashimi appetizer, which was exceptional, but it was nearly all devoured before I remembered my camera.

My luck with Soba entrees has been hit or miss, but this visit I got an entree that I was so impressed with, that I’d probably make it my “regular” dish there (to the extent that going there once a year entitles me to have any kind of “regular” dish.)

Ben was more than a little frightened, because my dinner was staring at him, but I was pleased as punch with my whole battered and fried bronzini.  (Full disclosure: one factor in my selection of this dish was that the fish is called “bronzini” and that made me think of an old-timey circus ringmaster, and that was too amusing to me to pass up.)  It came with delicious vegetables and rice, and a red sauce (hidden here from view) that was just a smidge too spicy for me, but would give the dish a perfect kick if I was a little less enthusiastic in mixing it with my meal.

I’ve heard that the cheeks are the most tender part of the fish.  I did eat them, but didn’t find them to be appreciably different in taste or texture than the rest of the fish. Maybe it was because this fish had teeny tiny cheeks.  I did not, however, eat the eyeballs. I don’t do eyeballs.

For dessert of course I had the cashew terrine. I LOVE THE CASHEW TERRINE.  The menu describes it as: “frozen cashew terrine; chocolate ganache, mango-raspberry coulis, candied cashews.”  OMG YOU GUYZ, I love this dessert so much.  Even more than cheesecake.  Possibly more then creme brulee. Well, maybe not more than creme brulee. But I do love it a whole lot.  I was actually so full from my day of pigging out, that I could not even finish it.  Woe is me.  But the 2/3 of it that I could eat was, as always, blissful.
Soba on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

