The New Workout Plan

2 Jul

Ok, so TWICE in the last week I’ve hit “publish” without the post being done.  Sorry that I suck at the internet, folks.

After the last few weeks of insanity at work, I’ve realized that I really truly need to make time for frequent exercise.  If I can make time for happy hour, I can make time for the gym.  And Baby Beez will find a way to survive if Daddy puts her to bed on gym nights instead of me.

One of my 30 before 30 goals is to visit a personal trainer 3 times.  I went for 1 personal training appointment, and the trainer ran me through some weight machines I was already familiar with, and while it was nice to have someone keeping track of my reps for me, I didn’t really learn anything or feel challenged.

I know that a personal trainer is great if you are working toward a specific goal.  What about if your goal is just to get your butt off the couch? Is it totally weird to get a personal training package just to have someone waiting for me at the gym so I HAVE to show up?

I’d like to do some group exercise classes.  I’ll start with a low goal- like 1 class each week.  The gym has a cardio/weights class on Sunday mornings that I could make, and it’s not like Baby Beez lets me sleep in anyway.

How do you hold yourself accountable for working out? What do you do to get your butt to the gym?

5 Responses to “The New Workout Plan”

  1. Sandy July 2, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    My primary driving method is vanity. Did you ever see the episode of Designing Women where Bernice gets the nose job where she looks like a pig after, and Suzanne sells one of her Cadillacs to get her a redo nose job because she knows what’s most important in life: Julia – “What’s that, Suzanne, friendship?” Suzanne – “No, lookin’ good.”

    Fear of death from heart attack or high cholesterol or similar are up there too, since I’m pretty convinced that if I ate like I wanted I’d probably be dead by the time I was 50.

    Also, I really love playing hockey.

    I think a personal trainer may be the way to go. But it does seem like finding a trainer who understands your goals is important. The one I had when I went for a few weeks after I had Elena was SUPER nice but not exactly the push I needed to get where I wanted to go.

    • Sandy July 2, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

      In the alternate, I could have my mom make a copy of her audio tape of the TV show “The 20 minute workout” that she’s been doing since 1983. That seems to have been a good motivator for her.

  2. Bryon July 3, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    For me a trainer solves one very specific problem only: boredom. I get bored during my workout and want to quit, and so I end up short-changing myself on exercise. The trainer does tell me what to do and handle things like setting up the weights which is nice but I could certainly do those things myself. It’s really more like having a workout buddy that never flakes our or loses interest because they’re being paid.

  3. Lindsay @ LindsayInNYC July 3, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    I don’t always have an issue with actually working out, it’s just a matter of finding time. And lately there has been none. I don’t have time for a happy hour nevermind working out. =/

  4. nikki July 3, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    I really liked going zumba. I keep it up by going with friends from work who harass me when I want to be a quitter. E are also in a weight loss competition

Leave a Reply

