Same as it Ever Was, Same as it Ever Was

8 Jul

This week has been driven by an overwhelming feeling of “Wait, this is my life?”  I’ve got 40 years ahead of me of blasting through a work week, only to follow up with a weekend full of some combination of more work, laundry, grocery shopping, and if I’m lucky maybe going out for a meal.  Wedged in between the week after week of madness is, if I’m lucky, 1 week a year of vacation (which is sometimes also peppered with work), and then it’s back to the grind again.

Each of the component parts of my life I like fine– I like the substance of my work, I actually like to go grocery shopping, and I don’t even mind doing laundry.  I even like writing my work-related articles.  It’s just that doing all of these things over and over at such a rapid pace just wears me down. And it’s not like I’m the first person who has had to play this balancing act, not even close, so when it makes me feel worn down, I wonder what is wrong with me that I can’t handle this as well as everyone else.

I have vacation (a trip to Vancouver!) coming up at the end of the month, and I’m hoping that getting out of town really does do the trick.  I’m also reminding myself that the insanity of work ebbs and flows, so even though I’ve been crazy crazy crazy for the last several months, I won’t be crazy crazy crazy forever.

Pittsburgh Magazine profiled Dr. Freddie Fu  a while back, and his day starts at 4am and ends at 10pm, and is filled with work, workouts, and even leisure time.  He’s up at 4am EVERY day! He works out EVERY day, and reads 4 newspapers! Yeah, I guess that’s why he’s Dr. Fu and I’m a no-name lawyer, but still, his profile highlights all those inefficiencies and wastes in my day, and there’s just so much more I could be doing.

Ugh, so happy Sunday everybody.  Lets hope this work week brings something new and exciting.  I’ve got a date with Death Cab coming up on Friday, so that’s something to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

