Lazy Sunday.

15 Jul

Today Mr. Beez woke up with the baby, and let me sleep in.  I slept until 11:30, DO YOU KNOW HOW GOOD THAT FEELS?  Today we are hanging out around the house, regrouping from a busy week and weekend.  I’m watching Nashville, and feel like it’s full of references and humor that I’m just not getting.

Friday night, Baby Beez had a sleepover at her grandparents house, and Mr. Beez and I got to go out on the town.  We started out with a ridiculously gluttonous dinner at Ibiza.  I had a LivingSocial coupon for there (there are always Groupons, LivingSocial, and Restaurant.com coupons floating about for that place).  Upon eating plate after plate after plate of delicious tapas, I realized that these folks are totally winning at this game.  Sure, I paid $12 for a $25 coupon, but the lamb tapas plate was $24 alone, so I got a whopping half off one of our dishes. Whatever, it was GOOD.

We followed up that tasty meal with the Death Cab for Cutie concert that I had been looking forward to for AGES.  I really do love that band, and the show was great.  This was my first visit to Stage AE, and I was happy to find that the venue is big enough to attract big acts, but small enough that pretty much everywhere has a good view of the stage.  They also have enough concessions and restrooms that you don’t have to wait in long lines.  We’ll be making visits back there in early August for 311 (Mr. Beez’ pick), and October for Fiona Apple.

I even forced my musical tastes on my poor, unsuspecting child with this Death Cab onesie.

Yesterday afternoon we visited SouthSide Works Exposed, featuring musical acts, hula hoopers, and the I Made It! craft market.  We wandered about for a bit, but it was hot hot hot.  We weren’t in the market for any crafty things in particular, so we spent most of our time hanging out at the fountain.

Last night we also went to the drive-in to see Ted.

Ted was pretty funny.  It really IS like a live-action full length Family Guy.  The structure, style, and humor is all the same.  I run hot and cold with Family Guy.  I will watch it if it’s on, but the jokes grow tiresome to me pretty quickly, and it’s not like I go searching out the show on the TV lineup.  Ted was pretty much the same thing.  I enjoyed it, but it didn’t turn my world upside down.

The last 2 times we went to the drive in, Baby Beez has been find. Last night she decided to be a screaming banshee, so we spent a lot of the movie with the windows rolled up, hoping to limit the disturbance to the other attendees.  (we would have left due to her fuss, but it was a logistical impossibility to leave the movie while it was going on).  We didn’t stay for the 2nd movie, and of course as soon as we started to drive away, she conked out in the car.  Maybe we just have to go for a longer drive before getting to the drive-in, to get her to fall asleep in the car before we even get to the movie.

We’ve spent a good part of this weekend watching the TV coverage of Comic Con in San Diego.  At one point, Mr. Beez asked with sad-puppy eyes, “Do you think we could ever go?”  “SURE.” I answered.  I’m not much into all the comics and games, but there is plenty for the movie nerd side of me.  We started looking into what it would take to attend the 2013 con.  Booking a flight and hotel won’t be a problem, but it looks like getting the tickets to the convention is going to be tricky.  Apparently this year’s full-convention tickets sold out in 90 minutes. Yikes.  IF we can get tickets for next years Comic Con, it’ll be a good opportunity to drop Baby Beez off with my mom for the weekend, and let them have some quality time together.  Has anyone gone to Comic Con before? What was your experience with the event?

Leave a Reply

