Quiche for Lunch

21 Jul

I woke up this morning with a taste for quiche.  I debated where I should go to pick some up, whether La Gourmandine, Dozen Bakeshop, Jean-Marc Chatellier allllll the way out in Millvale, or take the easy way out and just roll down the hill to Costco.  Then I realized, HELLO, I have ALL the ingredients for a quiche right here in my house, and it will take just as long for me to drive out to pick one up, as it would for me to whip one together.

The nice thing about quiche is that it needs no real recipe. You just throw it all together and bake it.  It can also be a great way to reinvent leftovers, by tossing in whatever vegetables or meats you happen to have in the fridge.

In anticipation of an iPhone photography workshop at BlogHer, I also just downloaded LensFlare, so taking some pictures in the kitchen was a perfect opportunity to play with the app (please excuse gratuitous overuse of effects).

Now shhhhh, don’t tell anyone, but I’m going to share with you my top secret not-recipe-just-throw-it-together for quiche!

Scrounge up some veggies and cut them up.  Here we have red peppers and scallions.

Crack all the eggs in your fridge into a bowl (here: 9), and whisk them.  Then you add in some milk (maybe 1/2 cup to a cup) and some salt and pepper. Then mix it together with the veggies.  Also mix in some shredded cheese or meats if you like.  Feel free to add in whatever seasonings you’d like as well, but don’t ask me what quantities.  I keep it simple with just the salt and pepper, in the amount of “enough.”

Put pre-made pie crusts into the pie pans, and do something fancy with the crusts if you are capable of that (I am not).  Pour the filling in the crusts.  Cover the crust edge with foil OR YOU WILL BE SORRY (unless you like terribly burnt crusts, then you will not be sorry).

Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes, then take off the foil and bake another 50 minutes.

TA DA! There you have it! Delicious quiche for lunch, and it involved driving zero miles and spending zero dollars!

 

Leave a Reply

