The Giver, Lois Lowry (1993)

1 Aug

Tomorrow I leave for BlogHer, and I’ve got the “I’m going to be in a big place full of people I don’t know” jitters.  I’ve been in this situation a million times, and it’s always the same.  When I was a kid and I went to camp, I spent the first 2 days writing my mom 17 letters about how I HATED it and I WANTED TO GO HOME.  Then (despite my best efforts) I actually made some friends, had some fun, and loved it.  So here’s to hoping I make some friends quickly, and don’t feel like an out of place dork!

ON to the substance of this post: The Giver.

The Giver is Lois Lowry’s Newberry Award winning classic-dystopian future YA novel.  (Was dystopian a “classic” YA subgenre at the time she wrote it? I don’t know. That’s not today’s question.)  It’s thought provoking, and paced well so that the strange, frighteningly calm future society does not overwhelm the reader all at once.  It gradually dips in to questions of autonomy, and risk, and social good.  And then as soon as the pace of the novel really gets going, IT ENDS.

I got to the last page, and was exasperated! HOW could this be the end! About 2/3 of the entire story is still left out there! I’ve got so many questions about the world! The characters! Everything!  Apparently there are 2 more books that come afterward, but the summaries suggest that they don’t entirely wrap up the plotline of the first book.

PLEASE SOMEONE GIVE ME ASSURANCE THAT MY QUESTIONS ARE ANSWERED IN THE NEXT BOOK!  Sigh.

4 Responses to “The Giver, Lois Lowry (1993)”

  1. alenaslife August 2, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    1) Hope you’re loving BlogHer. I’m glad someone else out there gets just as jittery as I do at those conferences. 2) I think I love THE GIVER for the very reasons you are frustrated — the unfinished business. I really admire authors who trust readers enough to not provide all the answers. 3) Sorry I haven’t read the subsequent books so I don’t know what’s answered.

  2. soniabgill August 2, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    I felt the same way about The Giver! I needed closure! I have the second and third book on my To Read list. Let me know what you think if you do read them!

    Have fun at BlogHer!

  3. shannon August 2, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    The first time I read the book, I was exasperated, too. But on subsequent readings, i’ve come to love the open-endedness. And no, the subsequent books will not give you any answers whatsoever. It’s more of a “what if” than a “here’s what happened next”. I really liked Gathering Blue, but you really need to not expect anything of it to enjoy it, I think.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2012 book list « BeezusKiddo - October 4, 2012

    […] The Giver, Lois Lowery (1993) […]

Leave a Reply

