More Farmshare Catch Up

14 Aug

I was still overloaded with eggplants, tomatillos, and tomatoes, so back to the kitchen I went to whip up something to use the excess veggies, and is easy to freeze (we can only eat so much of this stuff at once!) The tomatoes are easy to handle- they’re going to become pico de gallo. Fresh salsa doesn’t last long in our house. With the tomatillos, the easy answer would be salsa verde. That usually involves broiling the tomatillos and I didn’t want to deal with that. Also, salsa verde is not as popular with my family as other salsa varieties, so I am not confident we’d go through it as quickly.

I LOVE my slow cooker, and found a great recipe for Tomatillo Pork Chili Verde stew (you can easily substitute chicken or seitan for the pork).

20120814-132347.jpg

This was a big hit for both Mr. Beez and I. We didn’t give any to Baby Beez because I didn’t feel like cleaning stew up off the ceiling and floor and everything. But Mr. Beez and I loved it. It’s got a little zing but not too spicy, and it is plenty flavorful.

I also had TONS of eggplant to use…

20120814-132404.jpg

I used up the eggplant with a lamb and eggplant bake that turned out AMAZING. I don’t have the recipe handy this second, but if anyone is interested, leave a comment and I’ll dig it up. The recipe calls for lamb shoulder, but for some reason the Iggle only had lamb roast. The result was that (even after draining the grease) there was a lot more fat that cooked into the tomato/spices/lamb mix, and that gave the dish a rich, decadent, but not overpowering flavor.

20120814-132411.jpg

Despite there being a lot of eggplants in the dish, it really does not taste heavily of eggplant. This is the kind of dish you can sneak onto the plate of a resistant eggplant eater, and not have them hate you for it.

20120814-132418.jpg

5 Responses to “More Farmshare Catch Up”

  1. Ginger Smoothy and Otto Pilot August 14, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    This is a great way to use up the eggplant. I tried growing some small ones with green stripes this year and wanted to do something different with them. I would be very interested in that recipe and also since I have alot of tomatillos , I”m going to try the pork chili verde stew. We wait all season to harvest our goodies, then all of a sudden everything is ready all at the same time , so I like easy recipes that don’t require me spending the entire day standing up to process the harvest.

  2. Tammy August 15, 2012 at 12:53 am #

    When I first read this I was so excited that it was a slow cooker eggplant chili! Oh well. Your chile looks good just the same.

  3. inherchucks August 15, 2012 at 1:18 am #

    Looks like a lot of yumminess is going on in your kitchen 🙂

    I host a weekly CSA link party and would love for you to be a part of it. Come and check it out and add your link. http://inherchucks.com/2012/08/08/whats-in-the-box-38/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply

