Stuffed Poblanos and BeezusKiddo’s Magic Trick to De-seeding Tomatoes So You Don’t Hate Your Life

19 Aug

With a crisper fat with poblano peppers thanks to the weekly farmshare, I picked out Martha Stewart’s Stuffed Poblano’s recipe for dinner. On first view, the recipe seemed like kind of a pain with all the chopping and the blending and the stuffing, but it ended up being super easy.

Stuffed Poblanos ready to go in the oven

Ready to go in the oven!

20120819-213254.jpg

And here it is all finished.  I ended up using mostly shredded mozz. cheese because that’s what we had in the darn fridge.  It made very little difference, because the flavor of this dish is in the peppers and other vegetables, and the cornmeal gave it a nice tamale-like texture.

I have used poblano peppers in cooking before, but have never had a good sense of how spicy they are, because they’re always mixed in with lots of other things (like in chili).  In this dish, I learned that they’ve got a little zing, but are mild enough that even spicy food crybabies like me can enjoy them.

20120819-213300.jpg

Summer also means eleventythousand tomatoes, and the best thing to do with eleventythousand tomatoes is make pico de gallo. I once made it using a food processor, but Mr. Beez whined because he likes salsa to be extra chunky. I’ve made it by hand ever since.

For the longest time the only way I knew how to seed tomatoes was to slice them open and cut out the seed sections. THAT TOOK SO LONG AND WAS SO MISERABLE. I hated de-seeding the stupid things so much that I tried to skip that step entirely, but then the pico de gallo wound up watery. Then I discovered this MAGIC technique, which I will share with YOU today.

(I admit, this technique is probably universal knowledge, but sometimes I am slow and stupid, so humor me here).

tomato

Hello, fine looking tomato.

tomato

First, you slice the top off the tomato.  See all those little sections with the seeds inside?  Remember how you used to cut up all those sections and then cut the seeds out of each and every one? Well that was stupid.

20120819-213154.jpg

Because all you have to do is squeeze the sections from the bottom of the tomato, up toward the top, and SQUISH, out come the seeds!

Squeezing the small tomatoes is extra fun because SQUISH TOMATO MURDER ALL OVER THE SINK! (Our parrot, Alida, is whistling “hello” in the background)

20120819-213203.jpg

Add a little onion, cilantro, lime juice, salt and garlic (I prefer garlic powder) and ta da! Pico de gallo!

And that is the magic of making de-seeding tomatoes not totally awful!

2 Responses to “Stuffed Poblanos and BeezusKiddo’s Magic Trick to De-seeding Tomatoes So You Don’t Hate Your Life”

  1. Tammy August 19, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    I’m not sure I could hate my life with a dish like that. It looks beautiful. Thanks so much. When our peppers are here, I’d love to make this.

    • BeezusKiddo August 19, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

      Oh it’s the laborious chore of de-seeding tomatoes that brings on the life hating, not those delicious stuffed peppers! Enjoy the recipe! It was easy and tasty!

Leave a Reply

