Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (and other concerns), Mindy Kaling (2011)

2 Sep

Dude, this book is funny.

Mindy Kaling is a producer for The Office, did some writing for SNL, and wrote a hit off-off-Broadway play.  You know she’s funny.  Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me isn’t a book of jokes.  Instead its funny in that OMG I TOTALLY DO THAT, TOO kind of way.  I found myself comparing it to Tina Fey’s Bossypants (probably because Bossypants was the only other comedy book I’ve read in a while), but loved Kaling’s book a whole lot more.  Bossypants is tinged with stress and anxiety, while Kaling is totally laid back and fun.

Kaling’s book is assembled from a number of essays on whatever topic happened to pop in her head.  She jokes about her chubby childhood, and her ascent to a hit TV show– which was filled with plenty of ill chosen sweaters and goofing off.  You don’t want to just read about Kaling, you want to jump right in and BE HER BEST FRIEND.

This book was exactly the medicine I needed after just finishing the excellent but long Tess of the D’Urbervilles.  This book is fast, fun, and short.  I read it in 2 days, and didn’t even have to stay up super late for it.

4 Responses to “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (and other concerns), Mindy Kaling (2011)”

  1. The Book Wheel September 2, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    I’m adding this to my to-read list right now

  2. Lacey Brown September 5, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    I’m so glad to see you liked it. I am so excited to read it now. I loved Bossypants. Can’t wait!!

    • BeezusKiddo September 7, 2012 at 8:12 am #

      It’s fun! You’ll love it!
      Although there is a part where Mindy talks about how obviously crazy in love Amy Poehler and Will Arnett are, and now that makes me saaaad 😦

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2012 book list « BeezusKiddo - October 4, 2012

    […] Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, Mindy Kaling (2011) […]

Leave a Reply

