The many things on my mind to-day

9 Sep

1. It feels like wonderful glorious fall

Hot apple cider with a cinnamon stick? Don’t mind if I do!

20120909-212753.jpg

2. I’m always impressed with the high quality of decadent food you can get at a reasonable price for brunch.

Park Bruges price fix brunch includes entree, side, and cocktail. Oh yum.

20120909-212811.jpg

Pork belly over roasted apples and potatoes, topped with two eggs, potato souffle on the side, and a mimosa.
Park Bruges on Urbanspoon

3. Farewell to Schenley Plaza Kids Days for the season.

Today we saw a puppet show, made a short stop at the library to run around the kids’ section, and rode the carousel FOUR times until Mommy got motion sick and said it was time to go.

20120909-212803.jpg

Baby Beez didn’t nap well and was tired herself. On the way back to the car, the following exchange ensued:

Baby Beez: MOM

Me: Yes, baby

Baby Beez: MOM

Me: What?

Baby Beez: COFFEE

Me: No. You’re a baby. Babies don’t drink coffee.

Baby Beez: Milk?

No exaggeration, this is what she literally said. Crazy kid.

4. I fear I’m going to be run out of Pixburg with flaming torches and pitchforks for admitting this, but…

I love going to Giant Eagle during the Steelers games. Sweet sweet silence.

5. Speaking of fall weather and da Stillerz…

I could use some chili and cornbread!

6. I’m in week 4 of the Couch to 5k program

In the past I had chickened out of C25k because keeping track of all the timing was too cumbersome. Then my friend Regina introduced me to the C-2-5k Free app, and I had NO excuse to not do it. I’m almost done with week 4 of this 8 week program, and I’m glad to say that joy of running is returning to me.

With all this jogging, it was high time to update my playlist. This is what’s currently on my running list, but I’m always looking for new tunes. PLEASE feel free to suggest your favorite workout songs!! I’m perpetually seeking new additions to this playlist.

Rolling in the Deep (Adele)

Right Now (Akon)

What the Hell (Avril Lavigne)

Single Ladies (Beyonce)

Lonely Boy (The Black Keys)

Till the World Ends (Britney Spears)

I Wanna Go (Britney Spears)

F-You (Cee Lo Green)

Lights (Ellie Goulding)

Down for the Count (GirlTalk)

Triple Double (Girl Talk)

Stronger (Kanye West)

Hot N Cold (Katy Perry)

Tik Tok (Ke$ha)

Blow (Ke$ha)

Numb (Linkin Park)

Valerie (Mark Ronson, ft. Amy Winehouse)

Everybody Talks (Neon Trees)

Flip-Flop Rock (Outkast)

Kryptonite (Purple Ribbon All Stars)

Beautiful Girls (Sean Kingston)

Turn Me On (David Guetta & Nicki Minaj)

Marry the Night (Lady Gaga)

Brokenhearted (Karmin)

What Makes You Beautiful (One Direction)

Payphone (Maroon 5 & Wiz Khalifa)

Call Me Maybe (Carly Rae Jepsen)

3 Responses to “The many things on my mind to-day”

  1. Sandy September 9, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    Your conversation with Beez made me lol.

    New workout music for me is Lonely Boys by the Black Keys and We Are Young by Fun. I’m sure I’ve told you my old favorites a bajillion times, but in my opinion no workout playlist is complete without I Wanna Be Sedated.

    • BeezusKiddo September 9, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

      I’ve got Lonely Boy on there, but I should add some Fun. I’ve been listening to their album on Spotify a lot lately, it’s really good.

  2. soniabgill September 9, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

    A few songs I love on my running playlist, although they are not new (but maybe new to you?):

    Kick, Push by Lupe Fiasco
    Mr. Blue Sky, by Electric Light Orchestra
    In the Waiting Line, by Zero 7
    All the Girls Love Alice, by Elton John
    Anti-Depressed, by The Gladstone Ruckus (husband’s old band!)
    Back on the Train and Bathtub Gin, both by Phish
    Bruises, by Chairlift
    Better be Good to Me, by Tina Turner
    Cream Cheese Money (I think this is the official name), by Grand Buffet

    …weird collection but I get bored easily 🙂 These are a just a few from the top of my head/op of the list, have several hundred on the list. You can come over and grab the tunes some time if you want!

Leave a Reply

