Finally Friday and Magical 2’s

14 Sep

Boy, what a week. I came down with something this week.  It wasn’t quite a flu, all I can say is that my whole body HURT and I was exhausted.  I had to go home from work early and sleep one day, I was feeling so awful.  It seems to have cleared up now, thank goodness…just in time for a weekend that I can use to make up the work I would have otherwise done, but for getting sick.  I also got my annual hours report this week, which is simultaneously a relief that I hit my targets, and also a scare/shock about how much time I devoted to work and work-related activities last year.  After seeing those numbers and not feeling the greatest, on Wednesday I decided that YES I really DID need to go home and lie down.

Yesterday was the BlogMob event at the Food Bank, and it was fantastic. I learned so much about the good work that the Food Bank does, and I’m eager to share about it.  I want to devote the proper care and attention that post deserves, so you can expect to see that post early next week.

Now on to musing about the small creature in our house. The Terrible 2’s certainly deserve their rep, but Baby Beez at 2 has also been SO much fun. Her language has developed so much in the last few weeks. She’s gone from 2 word phrases to now making up her own songs. Still excited about her recent birthday, yesterday she sang “Happy Day! Happy Day! Elmo! Juice! Cake!”

She started in the big kids room in daycare this week. In the 1 year old room, she was always a little whiny when I dropped her off. She wanted me to hand her off to a teacher for a few snuggles. Now, in the big kids room, she dashes in and starts playing IMMEDIATELY. She’s not even interested in saying goodbye, she just wants to PLAY.

I think the other kids are inspiring her. She’s been spouting out numbers and letters nonstop this week (she doesn’t necessarily identify the right letters, or yell out the numbers in order, but she’s having fun with them anyway). The kids start on potty training in the big kid room, and she is so excited to tell me about the potty.

She loves, loves, loves her music. At gymnastics last weekend, the teacher played the “Ants Go Marching” song, and Baby Beez marched her way around the room for the whole song. She was very confused by the other kids who continued to climb and play instead of marching to the “Ants Go Marching” song.  That song is for marching of course!

Ah, big girl. I’m proud of you kiddo.

20120913-223006.jpg

Yum! Blueberry muffins!

4 Responses to “Finally Friday and Magical 2’s”

  1. rachelraven September 14, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    She’s a cutie, but aren’t all Rachels cuties. 🙂

    Two with Eva was actually pretty decent; she was much harder at three… too advanced (verbally) for three, yet still socially/psychologically three. So she demanded to understand why we could do something and she could not. In SENTENCES that were worthy of a 6-7 year old. lol Yeah. It was MUCH harder to fight with her at three vs. two.

    • BeezusKiddo September 14, 2012 at 8:52 am #

      Rach hasn’t started questioning things yet, but I know that’s coming soon. Based on her attitude and how quickly she has picked things up language wise, I have a feeling we might be in a similar boat to yours by next year.

    • BeezusKiddo September 14, 2012 at 8:53 am #

      for now, though, I’m getting a kick out of the counting. Last night she goes “one, two, three, five, three, five, seven, eight, nine, ten, eight, nine, ten”

  2. soniabgill September 16, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    Her vocabulary and diction are amazing for her age! I was very impressed with her 🙂

Leave a Reply

