30 Before 30: PostSecret, and other Misc

17 Oct

1.  30 Before 30: PostSecret

Well folks, I did it.  I sent in a postcard to PostSecret.  I selected the postcard about a year ago, and have literally been carrying it (blank) in my purse ever since.  Even when I changed purses, the postcard moved to the new bag.  I am not a person of secrets.  What I wrote can hardly even be called a secret.  But I am a person that is terrible at letting go, and terrible at forgiving, especially myself.   I wrote about something that makes me sad enough to not talk about, and by writing it down and sending it away, I’m trying to let myself let go of it. 

I actually hope my card is not published on the site.  I am not seeking a sense of community from my words.  I love reading other peoples’ secrets, but for me, the act of writing those words and dropping them in a letterbox was so much more moving than having someone else read them. 

2.  Get Moving.

Hello Ladies shared this message on Monday, and its been “running” through my head ever since (haha):

So true. I need to get myself to the gym, stat.

3.  SWAN Day, Yinzpiration, One Young World, and I’ve got nothing.

Pittsburgh is overflowing with BIG IDEAS right now. 

Last Monday, I had the fantastic and fun experience of being interviewed along with my friend Sandy for SWAN day. SWAN (Support Women in the Arts Now) Day is a multinational celebration of women in the arts, and in Pittsburgh the No Name Players take the lead in interviewing women in all ages, editing and distributing the footage to women artists, and organizing an exciting performance evening to showcase the works.  I was proud to participate as an interviewee, and Tressa and Don (the No Name Players) were so friendly and fun.  The 2013 Celebration will be on March 23, 2013, so mark your calendars now! I am so excited!

Kate of Yinzpiration is back in the swing of interviewing inspiring Pittsburghers.  Yinzpiration is one of my favorite Burgh Blogs, because it’s a concrete reminder of how devoted and hardworking 20 and 30-somethings are to making Pittsburgh and an amazing place to live, as well as a reminder that in Pittsburgh there is always opportunity and support to take your Big Idea from idea to reality.

The One Young World conference starts tomorrow in Pittsburgh, and WOW, just WOW. Delegates to that conference don’t just have Big Ideas, they have BIG IDEAS.  When I hear about the work those young people are doing, I wonder what the heck have I been doing with my life?  These delegates are tackling global issues without fear, with real results. 

I want to have a Big Idea.  I want to do something that is interesting and clever and inspirational.  I’m not talking quit my day job for an art project– I actually really like my day job, and I suck at art.  But I want to have some kind of Big Idea that makes a difference in our City, and I have absolutely no idea what to do.  I’m totally awesome at the logistics side of things, I know I can make something come to life.  I just don’t have any idea how to get that Big Idea.  I know that I have readers who have had a Big Idea, and have made it come to life. So readers, how did you get your Big Idea?

One Response to “30 Before 30: PostSecret, and other Misc”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 30 before 30 « BeezusKiddo - October 17, 2012

    […] Send in a secret to PostSecret. Accomplished on 10/16/12. […]

Leave a Reply

